Nearly 40 percent of school districts ask state for disaster days

jbrammer@herald-leader.comMay 6, 2009 

  • School System Status

    Anderson County 3 days waived; 9 days extended by 30 minutes

    Ballard County 5 days waived

    Boyd County 4 days waived

    Breathitt County 9 days waived

    Breckinridge County 10 days waived

    Bullitt County analysis under way

    Carlisle County 2 days waived

    Casey County analysis under way

    Clark County analysis under way

    Clay County analysis under way

    Cloverport Independent 4 days waived

    Daviess County analysis under way

    Edmonson County 4 days waived

    Elliott County 1 day waived

    Erlanger-Elsmere Ind. 1 day waived

    Estill County analysis under way

    Fairview Independent analysis under way

    Floyd County analysis under way

    Franklin County analysis under way

    Fulton County analysis under way

    Garrard County analysis under way

    Grant County 2 extra emergency hours granted

    Graves County 1 day waived; 8 days extended by 30 minutes; 1 day extended by 135 minutes

    Grayson County analysis under way

    Greenup County analysis under way

    Hancock County 6 days waived

    Hardin County 10 days extended by 36 minutes

    Harlan County 5 days waived

    Hart County 3 days waived

    Hickman County 7 days waived

    Hopkins County analysis under way

    Jackson County analysis under way

    School System Status

    Jenkins Independent 6 emergency hours granted

    Johnson County analysis under way

    Knox County analysis under way

    Laurel County analysis under way

    Lee County 10 days waived

    Letcher County analysis under way

    Lincoln County analysis under way

    Livingston County 8 days waived

    Lyon County 7 days waived

    Magoffin County 5 days waived

    Marion County analysis under way

    Marshall County 7 days waived

    Martin County 6 days waived

    Mayfield Independent 3 days waived

    McCracken County analysis under way

    McCreary County 37 days extended by 30 minutes

    Monticello Independent analysis under way

    Morgan County analysis under way

    Nicholas County 6 days waived

    Ohio County 4 days waived

    Paducah Independent 5 days waived; 3 days extended by 30 minutes

    Pendleton County 3 extra emergency hours granted

    Perry County 8 days waived

    Pike County analysis under way

    Pulaski County 3 days waived

    Rockcastle County analysis under way

    Rowan County analysis under way

    Russell County 33 days extended by 35 minutes

    Scott County analysis under way

    Spencer County analysis under way

    Washington County analysis under way

    Wayne County analysis under way

    Webster County analysis under way

    West Point Independent analysis under way

FRANKFORT -- Nearly 40 percent of Kentucky’s school districts have asked the state to let them waive as many as 10 makeup days for time lost during January’s ice storm and last September’s winds from Hurricane Ike.

The state Department of Education released a document Tuesday at the request of the Herald-Leader. The document showed that 66 of the state’s 174 school districts are seeking the disaster-day waivers under a bill approved in this year’s legislative session.

The state already has approved half of the requests, with most districts "getting what they asked for," department spokeswoman Lisa Gross said. The state is still considering 33 of the requests, Gross said.

"For those that are not yet completed, in general, we are awaiting additional supporting information from the districts in order to finalize the request," she said. "Staff is working around the clock on these requests. It’s a very complex process."

Local school boards that wanted waivers had to submit an amended school calendar to the state Department of Education by May 1.

The calendar had to show that all makeup days included in the district’s original school year calendar had been used before other days are waived. Each school district builds into its calendar a number of makeup days based on the average number missed during the past five years.

The state has 10 days to approve or deny a request for any so-called "disaster days."

Most of the school districts asking for the waivers did not seek the maximum 10 days and are in Western and Eastern Kentucky. Fayette and Jefferson counties did not ask for any.

The state so far has granted two school districts -- Breckinridge County and Lee County -- the maximum. It has allowed Russell County to extend 33 instructional days by 35 minutes each.

The bill allowed a school district that missed part of a school day for an emergency to make up only the time missed -- not the entire day.

David Baird, associate director of the Kentucky School Boards Association, said some districts in the state lost more than 20 days to the storms.

"We at the KSBA have strongly encouraged and advocated for school districts to make up missed days," Baird said.

"In the perfect world, they would do that. But school districts really were walloped by these storms and need help in working hard on their calendars." Under current law, Kentucky schools are required to be in session for 177 instructional days, compared with a national average of 180 days.

Rep. Mike Cherry, D-Princeton, who sponsored the legislation for the missed school days, said the number of school districts requesting waivers did not surprise him.

"I hate to see students lose any school day, but what happened to our state was highly unusual," he said. "We had two national disaster declarations in the same school year."

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service