Fayette added to disaster declaration

lwilson@herald-leader.comJune 16, 2010 

Fayette County has been added to Kentucky's federal disaster declaration for individual assistance from storm damage last month.

Individual assistance includes grants to help homeowners and renters pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs, officials announced Wednesday. Low-interest loans are also available from the U.S. Small Business Administration to assist with these costs. The announcement brings the total number of counties designated for individual assistance to 62.

Residents who suffered damage or loss from storms on May 1 or 2 can register for disaster assistance with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or applying online at www.disasterassistance.gov.

The deadline to apply is July 12.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service