Trevathan, Cobb named to All-SEC first team

Auburn dominates awards

December 7, 2010 

Kentucky junior receiver Randall Cobb and junior linebacker Danny Trevathan were both named to the Associated Press All-SEC first team, which was dominated by the conference champion.

Cobb had a league-leading 79 receptions for 955 yards and seven touchdowns. He ranks second in the nation in all-purpose yardage and was named to the first team as an all-purpose player.

Auburn quarterback Cam Newton, an overwhelming favorite for the Heisman Trophy, was a unanimous choice for offensive player of the year, leading top-ranked Auburn's domination of the individual awards. Teammate Nick Fairley was chosen as defensive player of the year, while Gene Chizik was the pick as top coach after guiding the Tigers to a 13-0 season, the SEC championship and a spot in the national championship game at Glendale, Ariz., on Jan. 10.

Preventing an Auburn sweep was South Carolina running back Marcus Lattimore, selected unanimously as the freshman of the year.

Cobb was joined by UK offensive lineman Larry Warford on the SEC second team, where Cobb was honored as a wide receiver. (See below for the AP All-SEC team)

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service