Jerry Tipton sizes up the SEC

November 6, 2011 

Predicted finish

(Note that there are no divisions this season, although the former divisional scheduling format will continue in 2011-12.)

1. Kentucky

2. Vanderbilt

3. Florida

4. Alabama

5. Mississippi State

6. Mississippi

7. LSU

8. Auburn

9. Arkansas

10. Georgia

11. Tennessee

12. South Carolina


First team:

Anthony Davis, Kentucky

Festus Ezeli, Vanderbilt

JaMychal Green, Alabama

John Jenkins, Vanderbilt

Terrence Jones, Kentucky

Second team:

Dee Bost, Mississippi State

Tony Mitchell, Alabama

Renardo Sidney, Mississippi State

Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt

Erving Walker, Florida

Player of the Year

Terrence Jones, Kentucky

Coach of the Year

John Calipari, Kentucky

Best shooter

John Jenkins, Vanderbilt

Mr. Clutch

Erving Walker, Florida

Best athlete

Tony Mitchell, Alabama

Best homecourt

For winning:

Kentucky (33-0 in Calipari's two seasons)

For atmosphere:


All-SEC freshmen

First team:

Bradley Beal, Florida

Anthony Davis, Kentucky

Rodney Hood, Mississippi State

Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Kentucky

Marquis Teague, Kentucky

Second team:

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

Anthony Hickey, LSU

Trevor Lacey, Alabama

Dai-jon Parker, Vanderbilt

Levi Randolph, Alabama

All-SEC newcomers (non-freshmen)

Justin Hamilton, LSU

Jelan Kendrick, Mississippi

Arnett Moultrie, Mississippi State

Mike Rosario, Florida

*Frankie Sullivan, Auburn

* Sat out last season because of injury

Quirky statistics

■ In 2010-11, Alabama became the first team to win more than 10 SEC games and not get an NCAA Tournament bid.

■ Florida has won 25 NCAA Tournament games with Billy Donovan. It won seven with its previous coaches.

■ Kentucky has won seven NCAA Tournament games with John Calipari. It won six in the six years prior to his arrival.

■ No SEC team has been absent from the NCAA Tournament longer than Mississippi; its last appearance was in 2002.

■ Tennessee has the longest active streak of NCAA Tournament appearances with six.

■ Neither Alabama, Auburn, Mississippi, Mississippi State nor Vandy has produced a first-round NBA pick since 2002.


Kenny Boynton, Florida

Festus Ezeli, Vanderbilt

Terrance Henry, Mississippi

Trevor Releford, Alabama

Dustin Ware, Georgia

All-name team

Dundrecous Nelson, Mississippi

Tony Neysmith, Auburn

Wes Washpun, Tennessee

Kristers Zeidaks, Mississippi State

Coach: Cuonzo Martin, TennesseeAll-bypass NBA draft team

Festus Ezeli, Vanderbilt

JaMychal Green, Alabama

John Jenkins, Vanderbilt

Terrence Jones, Kentucky

Doron Lamb, Kentucky


Before he (and several players) departed, Bruce Pearl left Tennessee with a schedule that includes home games against Connecticut and Pittsburgh, plus a trip to the Maui Invitational.

Where are they now?

■ Rotnei Clarke: transferred from Arkansas to Butler.

■ Matt Derenbecker: transferred from LSU to Dayton.

■ Garrett Green: transferred from LSU to San Diego State.

■ Murphy Holloway: transferred back to Mississippi after one season at South Carolina.

■ Larry Shyatt: moved from Florida assistant to Wyoming head coach.

■ Chris Warren: playing professionally in Australia.

Coach on the hottest seat

Trent Johnson, LSU

Jerry Tipton

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service