Federal assistance to repair storm damage approved for 7 more counties

bestep@herald-leader.comMarch 20, 2012 

A forklift held up the mostly intact upper level of a two-story storage building as Nero Blevins, left, helped Earl Deming salvage belongings from the destroyed first floor Monday in the Middle Fork community of Johnson County.


Federal officials have approved assistance to seven more counties for the cost of repairing damage from storms on Feb. 29 and March 2, Gov. Steve Beshear announced Tuesday.

The counties are Ballard, Johnson, Kenton, LaRue, Pendleton, Trimble, and Wolfe.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved seven other counties for such public assistance last week. They were Grant, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee and Morgan counties.

Public assistance goes to local governments to help reimburse them for the cost of repairing damage to public infrastructure such as buildings, roads and utilities, and to help with the cost of removing debris. Public-assistance money can go to the state, local governments and to some private non-profit agencies.

More counties could qualify for public assistance as damage assessments continue, according to the news release from Beshear's office.

President Barack Obama also has authorized individual assistance to people in 21 counties. That assistance can include low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and grants for home repairs and temporary housing.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service