58 Young Achievers from Lexington schools honored

June 13, 2012 

The Young Achievers program is a way to honor fifth- and eighth-graders in Lexington who serve as positive role models for their peers, demonstrate exceptional achievement in a variety of areas, exhibit good citizenship in their schools and communities, and maintain satisfactory records of school attendance and scholastic achievement.

An overall school winner has been named by the Young Achievers program for each participating elementary and middle school in Fayette County for the 2011-12 school year. Each winner receives a Young Achievers gold medallion, T-shirt and book bag. All participating students have received an award certificate from the Young Achievers program. These students were nominated by their principals, guidance counselors or teachers in the spring of their fourth- or seventh-grade year.

Holifield Photography has helped develop the Young Achievers program in Central Kentucky over the past 22 years and sponsors Young Achievers in cooperation with the International Leadership Network, a non-profit, charitable organization.

National awards are presented each year by the International Leadership Network. Each overall school winner is considered for these awards.

To make the community aware of the students' achievements, all students were photographed by Holifield Photography for a display that was exhibited at Fayette Mall and at the students' schools.

Here is a list of the overall school winners in the Young Achievers program for the 2011-12 school year.

Elementary school winners

Michael Henson, Arlington; Andy Du, Ashland; Langston Jackson, Athens-Chilesburg; Rasaan Thompson, Booker T. Washington; Anthony Wright, Breckinridge; Nieve Jackson, Cardinal Valley; Harris Hawkins, Cassidy; Casey Cowden, Clays Mill; Malinda Lemons, Deep Springs; Elizabeth Pike, Dixie Magnet; Rhayna Bailey, Garden Springs; Allison Ward, Glendover; Kianna Johnson, Harrison; Shayla Anaskevich, James Lane Allen; Jessica Ewing, Julius Marks; Hayden Decker, Lansdowne; Caleb Harper, Lexington Christian Academy; Savanna Ruebsam, Liberty; Alexis Cerise, Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary; Russell Gibson, Mary Todd; Abigail Pennington, Maxwell; Maara Ensmann, Meadowthorpe; Will Susco, Millcreek; Kobe Wallace, Northern; Ryan Bussini, Picadome; Joshua Siegel, Rosa Parks; Brooklyn Willhite, Russell Cave; Haiden Hunt, Sandersville; Kennedy Comer, School for the Creative and Performing Arts; Lauren Smith, Seton Catholic School; Hannah Hahnenstein, Southern; Michael Lanham, Squires; Anna Thiel, Sts. Peter and Paul; Emma Owens, Stonewall; Hannah Noel Barr, Summit Christian Academy; Erica Currier, Tates Creek; Jacob Meyer, Veterans Park; Xavia Smart, William Wells Brown; and Adrian Sardinha, Yates.

Middle School winners

Samantha Bartoli, Beaumont; Danielle Johnson, Bluegrass Baptist School; Elyse Blakeman, Bryan Station; Megan Yorkey, Christ the King; Jena Carter, Edythe J. Hayes; Sarah Bowen, Jessie Clark; Shane Caldwell, Leestown; Angela Puleo, Lexington Christian Academy Junior High; Zariah Embry, Lexington Traditional Magnet; Mattie Fogle, Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary; Emma Kathleen Gearon, Montessori Middle; Rachel Glasser, Morton; Tanner Troy Bleck, School for the Creative and Performing Arts; Daniela Conner, Seton Catholic School; Annelise Ridgway, Southern; Caroline Collier, Sts. Peter and Paul; Jonathan Morford, Summit Christian Academy; Alexis Wells, Tates Creek; and Darius Fullwood, Winburn.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service