Lineup of Kentucky legends set for induction Saturday

July 10, 2012 

A lineup of some of the commonwealth's greatest sports legends make up the inaugural class of the newly established Kentucky High School Basketball Hall of Fame.

The 16-member class of former players and coaches will be inducted during a ceremony Saturday evening in Elizabethtown.

The 2012 inductees, who were named in March, are:

Ralph Beard, Roy Bowling, Ralph Carlisle, Rex Chapman, "King" Kelly Coleman, Richie Farmer, Darrell Griffith, Geri Grigsby, Cliff Hagan, Clem Haskins, Clemette Haskins, Wallace "Wah Wah" Jones, Bobby Keith, Jim McDaniels, S.T. Roach and Wes Unseld.

The ceremony will be at the historic State Theater located at 209 West Dixie Avenue in downtown Elizabethtown.

"We believe this is a very special sporting event, but also an historic event," said Rick Whobrey, the Hall's executive director. "Never before have so many true Kentucky high school basketball legends been together at one time in one place."

Tickets are $30 and are available through the Hall of Fame office, First Citizens Bank in Elizabethtown and the State Theater.

The induction ceremony begins at 8 p.m. EDT. A reception with the Hall of Famers begins at 6 p.m. in the First Federal Gallery at the State Theater.

Visit the Hall of Fame's Web site at for more information.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service