Education notes: July 18

July 18, 2012 


Darri Washburn of Bluegrass Community and Technical College was one of 92 community and junior college students from across the nation to participate in the National Community College Aerospace Scholars program. To qualify, students completed four Web-based assignments during the school year and maintained an 88 average.

Washburn participated in the three-day event May 9 to 11 at Johnson Space Center in Houston. The program gave students the opportunity to interact as they learned more about careers in science and engineering. While at NASA, students formed teams and established fictional companies interested in Mars exploration. Each company was responsible for developing a prototype rover, designing a line drawing of the rover, and forming the company infrastructure, including budgeting and communications functions.

The experience at NASA included a tour of facilities and briefings by NASA employees, including astronauts.

National Community College Aerospace Scholars is a program based on Texas Aerospace Scholars, originally created by the state of Texas in partnership with NASA and the Texas educational community. Both programs are designed to encourage community and junior college students to enter careers in science and engineering, and ultimately to join the nation's highly technical work force.

With this program, NASA continues the agency's investment in educational programs that attract and retain students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, disciplines critical to NASA's future missions.

For more information, go to

■ The Bryan Station Chapter Daughters of American Revolution Good Citizenship Medal was presented to two eighth-grade students this year. Amelia Rogers of Edythe J. Hayes Middle School and Jessica Nelson of Winburn Middle School received medals at their schools on May 24. Rogers is the daughter of Brenda and Barton Rogers of Lexington and will be attending The Academy and Henry Clay High School in the fall. Nelson is enrolled in the gifted and talented program at Winburn. She participates in volleyball, piano, Girl Scouts and Teen Leadership Council. She is committed to helping her community through volunteer work at her church, and baking and decorating birthday cakes for Sweet Blessings, an organization that donates cakes to underprivileged children.

Nolan Phillips, a junior at Tates Creek High School, has been awarded a scholarship by the National Security Language Initiative for Youth, which is funded by the U.S. Department of State. This program seeks to increase Americans' capacity to engage with native speakers of critical languages. Nolan is studying Arabic in Amman, Jordan, for six-weeks this summer.

■ The following area students have been named winners of National Merit Scholarships in the last round of winners announced July 9. This final group of winners brings the number of 2012 National Merit Scholars to about 8,100. Winners include: Curtlyn C. Kramer, Paul G. Blazer High School, Ashland; Tennessee Joyce, Mercer County High School, Harrodsburg; Mohamed K. Agoub, Henry Clay High School, Lexington; Erin D. Anderson, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, Lexington; Nathan R. Arnold, Henry Clay; Grant F. Boggess, Paul Laurence Dunbar; Charlotte A. Eckmann, Tates Creek High School, Lexington; Rachel E. Geil, Henry Clay; James C. Gullo, Tates Creek; Patrick C. Keller, Lexington Catholic High School; Adarsh Subbaswamy, Paul Laurence Dunbar; and Qi Yu, Paul Laurence Dunbar.

Casey Miller has received a grant from the P.E.O. (Philanthropic Educational Organization) International at the recommendation of Chapter X in Lexington. Miller, a resident of Wilmore, will pursue her master's degree in social work at the University of Kentucky. P.E.O. is a philanthropic organization that supports higher education for women.

Lauren Jacoby, a 2012 graduate of Lafayette High School, has been named the 2012-13 recipient of the Lafayette Alumni Scholarship. She will receive $1,000 per semester of college for four years. Jacoby will attend Centre College in Danville and will major in business and Spanish. She is the daughter of Steve and Kathy Jacoby.

Lauren Cracraft, a 2010 graduate of Lafayette High School and a rising junior at the University of Kentucky, has received a Kentucky Grocers Association/Kentucky Association of Convenience Stores scholarship. She is planning a career in elementary education. The Kentucky Grocers Education Foundation and its sponsors presented 26 scholarships this year totaling $25,000 to students in the food industry.


■ Cadet Ethan Frederick Johnson, son of Dr. Charles and Nancy Johnson of Nicholasville, has graduated from the U.S. Military Academy. Johnson is a 2008 graduate of West Jessamine High School. While at West Point, he concentrated his studies on U.S. history. He also received the Charles A. Hardwick Memorial Award as captain of the academy's golf team.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service