Louisville club pro John Bachman leads Kentucky Open

August 7, 2012 

John Bachman shot a 4-under 68 in the first round to take a one-shot lead in Hebron.

John Bachman, who won the Kentucky PGA two weeks ago at Kearney Hill Links, looks like the golfer to beat in the 93rd Kentucky Open championship this week.

Bachman, a pro at Big Spring Country Club in Louisville, shot a 4-under par 68 to take the first-round lead at Traditions Golf Club in Hebron on Tuesday.

Keith Ohr, runner-up to Bachman in the state PGA, had a 69 on Tuesday and is tied for second with fellow pros Trey Bowling and Cameron Carrico, and amateur Cody Martin.

Ohr, an Irvine native who is now a club pro in Louisville, won the Kentucky Open in 2001. Bowling, who is from Manchester, took the title in 2008.

Carrico, a former Murray State standout from Owensboro, birdied three of his last four holes to card his 69.

Nicklaus Newcomb, older brother of two-time defending State Amateur champ Patrick Newcomb, is among a group at 2-under. Patrick Newcomb shot a 72.

Cale Barr of Versailles, the 2005 Open winner, posted a 78.

The field will be cut to the low 70 players and ties after Wednesday's second round. The tournament concludes Thursday.

Kentucky Open first round

Par-72 Traditions G.C., Hebron


John Bachman, Louisville 68 -4

Keith Ohr, Louisville 69 -3

Trey Bowling, Manchester 69 -3

Cameron Carrico, Owensboro 69 -3

Cody Martin, Union 69 -3

Patrick Williams, Richmond 70 -2

Nicklaus Newcomb, Murray 70 -2

Jason Fryia, Burlington-a 70 -2

Austin Meyer, Lousiville 70 -2

Jeffrey Meade, Ashland-a 71 -1

Ryan Martin, Prestonsburg 71 -1

Clay Hinton, Elizabethtown-a 71 -1

Adam Gary, Bowling Green 71 -1

Kelly Maxwell, Louisville 72 E

Dillon Mays, Campbellsville-a 72 E

Ryan Britt, Louisvllle 72 E

Troy Hawkins, Louisville 72 E

Bruce Oldendick, Butler 72 E

Blake Watts, New Albany 72 E

Parker Page, Louisville-a 72 E

Patrick Newcomb, Benton-a 72 E

Logan Edelen-a, Bardstown 72 E

Blanton Farmer, Lexington-a 72 E

Shawn Tipton, Clay City 73 +1

Dustin Denzik, LaGrange-a 73 +1

Bryan Conway, Frankfort 73 +1

Jon Coleman, Louisville 73 +1

Jeremy Martin, Georgetown-a 73 +1

Hunter York, Murray-a 73 +1

Mitchell Moore, Hopkinsville 73 +1

Chris Morris, Maysville 73 +1

Aaron Watkins, Loyall 73 +1

Jason Stilley, Paducah 73 +1

Steve Cox, Hodgenville 73 +1

Chris Miller, Prospect-a 73 +1

74—Dan Brown, Louisville-a; Dan DePasquale, Louisville; Ben Fuqua, Danville; Blake Hamilton, Union-a; Jeremy Bourne, New Liberty-a; Pat Stephens, Richmond; Jerry Price, Louisville; Austin Molen, Florence; Will Bishop, Lexington-a; Jeremy Langley, Lexington; Jim Volpenhein, Union-a; Jared Flanery, Sandy Hook-a; Michael Tooley, Bowling Green-a; Ben Simpson, Lexington-a; Greg McDonald, Lexington-a.

75—Zack Butler, Richmond-a; Lucas Cromeenes, Paducah; David Snyder, Somerset-a; Cory Kaufman, Louisville; Antonio Arriola, Bowling Green; Tom Wimsatt, Union; Rick Cochran, Paducah; Jesse Massie, Louisville; Matt Bowlin, Union-a; Eddie Mudd, Louisville; Bradley Alexander, Leitchfield-a; Kevin Heitz, Louisville-a; Alex Wright, Lexington.

76—Dylan Underwood, Crestwood-a; Sam Zirnheld, Louisville-a; Tyler Potts, LaGrange-a; Garrett Hinton, Elizabethtown-a; Ralph Landrum, Crestview Hills; Kris Maffet, Elizabethtown; Roger Schoeni, Ft. Mitchell-a; Carter Hibbard, Florence-a; Colby Wollitz, Louisville.

77—David Shearer, Burlington; Jason Witten, Leitchfield-a; Stephen Montgomery, Elizabethtown-a; Andrew Pleasant, Louisville-a; Jonathon Ice, Louisville-a; Ashton Van Horne, Georgetown-a; Brett Antle, Louisville-a; Jordan Blann, Bowling Green; Grant Sturgeon, Louisville; Kelly Williams, Lexington; Chad Douglas,Louisville; Andrew Yeast, Harrodsburg-a.

78—Steve Landrum, Crittenden; Tyler Mitchell, Cadiz; Stuart Witt, Richmond-a; Ethan Johnson, Nicholasville-a; Manu Siagatonu, Elizabethtown-a; Taylor Riggs, LaGrange-a; Willis Ring, Whitesburg; Matthew Costello, Louisville; Alex Martin, Lexington; Rick Parker, Prospect-a; Cale Barr, Versailles-a; Seth Blann, Bowling Green-a; Michael Fields, Lexington; Chad Stocker, Fairdale; Russ Johnson, LaGrange; Charles Jarboe, Louisville-a.79—J.T. Ross, Danville-a; Joseph Barr, Versailles-a; Robbie Baldwin, Winchester; Ryan Glass, Louisville-a; Dustin Fowler, Louisville-a; Jacob Buchanan, Louisville-a; Aaron McDowell, Lexington; Corey Stith, Elizabethtown; Gregory Meadors, Lexington; Dakota Woodcock, Scottsville-a;

80—Micheal Carter Demary, Elizabethtown; Mason Haynes, Elizabethtown; Coty Cantrell, Lancaster-a; Tyler Cherry, Scottsville-a; David Shearn, Louisville-a; Dylan Shepard, Crestwood-a; Jared Wolfe, Louisville; Christopher Stout, Louisville-a; Steve Geisler, Nicholasville-a.

81—Matthew Bloom, Louisville-a; Zach Smith, Mt. Sterling-a; Matthew Anderson, Tompkinsville-a; Tyler Sharpe, Greensburg-a; Patrick Vadden, Louisville; Michael Odenthal, Rockfield-a.

82—Trey Render, LaGrange-a; Chris Redle, Louisville; Taylor Wisniewski, Nicholasville Chris Gilles, Lexington-a;

83—Ryne Burnett, Paducah-a; Carson Ward, Paducah-a; Cameron Fields, Bowling Green-a; Daniel Iceman, Louisville-a; Derek Neleski, Vine Grove-a; Aaron Feiock, Danville; James Wistrom, Prospect-a; Hank Whalen, Cynthiana.

84—Eric Gilliland, Louisville.

85—Christopher Doub, Louisville-a; Adam Millson, Florence-a; Larry Maxwell, Owensboro-a;

86—Patrick Schirmer, Elizabethtown; Kyle Congleton, Richmond-a.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service