More Kentucky counties are designated as drought disaster areas

bestep@herald-leader.comAugust 8, 2012 

More Kentucky counties have been designated as drought disaster areas, Gov. Steve Beshear announced Wednesday.

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack notified Beshear that Breckinridge and Grayson counties have been upgraded to primary disaster areas. Both were classified as contiguous areas before, Beshear's office said.

With Wednesday's announcement, Kentucky has 28 Western Kentucky counties designated primary disaster areas because of the drought.

The designation makes farm operators in the areas eligible for low-interest emergency loans, Beshear's office said.

Vilsack also has announced other measures to help farmers affected by drought, including a reduced interest rate for emergency loans.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 1,496 counties in 33 states as drought disaster areas this year, according to the news release.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service