Fayette, 40-plus other counties under tornado watch

bmusgrave@herald-leader.comSeptember 2, 2012 

The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch Sunday for Fayette and 42 central and southern Kentucky counties.

The weather service issued the warning shortly before 3 p.m. The watch is in effect until 11 p.m. The National Weather Service in Jackson reported that the storms are producing damaging winds of up to 60 miles per hour.

Counties included in the tornado watch include Allen, Adair, Allen, Anderson, Barren, Bath, Bourbon, Boyle, Casey, Clark, Clinton, Cumberland, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Franklin, Garrard, Green, Harrison, Hart, Jackson, Jessamine, LaRue, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, McCreary, Menifee, Mercer, Metcalf, Monroe, Montgomery, Nelson, Nicholas, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Scott, Taylor, Washington, Wayne and Woodland counties.

David Shallenberger, a forecaster with the National Weather Service in Jackson, said the storms moving through central and southern Kentucky and parts of Tennessee on Sunday are remnants from Hurricane Isaac, which pounded the Louisiana and Mississippi coasts last week.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service