Herald-Leader Endorsements

Herald-Leader endorsements

Polls open 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

November 6, 2012 


President: Barack Obama. Steady leader during tough times at home and abroad, the only candidate who can be trusted to look out for all Americans.

Congress 6th: Ben Chandler Independent thinker, strong public service record, deep knowledge of Kentucky and issues facing Congress.

Congress 5th: Harold "Hal" RogersThirty-two year incumbent, chairman of House appropriations committee, faces token opposition.

Congress 4th: Bill AdkinsUnderstands and genuinely wants to promote the interests of the district and state.

State Senate

District 7: Julian M. CarrollFormer governor has shepherded through a few good bills.

District 17: Damon Thayer Advocates accountability and transparency in government, willing to reach across aisle to work on issues such as expanded gambling.

State House

District 39: Robert R. DamronEffective policymaker, has the clout to make a difference and a track record of looking out for some of the state's neediest citizens.

District 45: Breck Withers Articulate, personable Independent wants an end to extreme partisanship and do-nothing sessions.

District 56: Carl P. Rollins IILong-time public servant, chair of House Education Committee and champion of better care for nursing home residents.

District 62: Charlie HoffmanEffective legislator before narrowly losing two years ago, works across party lines, deeply aware of district's and state's needs.

District 76: Ruth Ann Palumbo

Ethical, steadfast advocate for children, women, seniors and consumers, chairman of the House Economic Development Committee, will continue to represent Lexington well.

District 79: Susan Westrom Stands up against powerful interests to protect vulnerable Kentuckians, has a reputation for hard work and bipartisanship.

District 88: Reginald ThomasLong history of civic engagement, eager to work directly on jobs creation in Lexington, will be accessible to all.

Supreme Court

District 7: Janet StumboIntegrity, temperament and experience as the first woman elected to the Court of Appeals and Kentucky Supreme Court would serve Eastern Kentuckians well.

Urban County Council

District 1: Chris FordIn productive first term, spearheaded revival of the Charles Young Center and led efforts to reduce youth violence.

District 2: Shevawn AkersBroad experience as a volunteer and in community service makes her the better choice for this open seat.

District 3: Diane LawlessHas tenaciously worked to improve quality of life in neighborhoods and limit the negative impact of student housing.

District 4: Julian BeardIndependent, engaged incumbent facing weak opposition.

District 9: Jennifer MossottiUnafraid to tackle tough issues, capable leader during four earlier terms, should be returned to open seat.

District 10: Harry ClarkeRetired University of Kentucky music school administrator and Harrods Hills Neighborhood Association president; for a newcomer, has extraordinary grasp of the issues and opportunities, seeking open seat.

District 12: Ed LaneFour-term incumbent; steady, reasoned voice; supporter of farmland preservation.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service