Three Cats, three Cards on Naismith watch list

November 13, 2012 

Kentucky freshmen Archie Goodwin, Nerlens Noel and Alex Poythress were among 50 players named Tuesday to the watch list for college basketball's Naismith Player of the Year Award.

The watch list also included sophomore Chane Behanan, junior Gorgui Dieng and senior Peyton Siva of Louisville, and senior Isaiah Canaan of Murray State.

Kentucky and Louisville were the only schools with three players on the watch list.

The three Wildcats were among seven freshmen on the list.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club will present the award on April 7, 2013, in Atlanta.

Kentucky's Anthony Davis won the award last season.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service