Fayette, 8 other districts honored for their advanced placement tests

Herald-Leader Staff ReportNovember 20, 2012 

Nine Kentucky public school districts, including Fayette County, have been recognized for their advanced placement classes, the state Education Department said Tuesday.

The third annual Advanced Placement District Honor Roll recognizes 530 nationwide and in Canada for simultaneously increasing access to AP courses while increasing the percentage of students earning scores of 3 or higher on AP exams, according to the education department.

In 2010, five Kentucky school systems were honored; in 2011, four were.

The nine Kentucky districts on the 2012 AP District Honor Roll are Ashland Independent and Boone, Bourbon, Clinton, Fayette, Oldham, Pulaski, Spencer and Washington counties. The Diocese of Covington also was placed on the 2012 honor roll.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service