Class 6A finals: Trinity trounces PRP 61-7

mfields@herald-leader.comDecember 1, 2012 

Pleasure Ridge Park Trinity 6A Football

Trinity's Dalyn Dawkins (1) outran Pleasure Ridge Park's Devon Finch during the 6A finals in Bowling Green. Dawkins ran 15 times for 163 yards and three touchdowns, and had four catches for 69 yards.


BOWLING GREEN — Trinity got its dominating groove back by pounding previously perfect Pleasure Ridge Park 61-7 in the Russell Athletic Class 6A football finals at WKU's L.T. Smith Stadium on Saturday night.

Trinity had to rally to escape St. Xavier (15-14) and Scott County (21-14) the previous two weeks, but it was blowout business as usual for the Shamrocks in the title game.

Sparked by senior running back Dalyn Dawkins, Trinity built an early 27-0 and rolled to its third state title in a row, and its 10th in 12 years under Bob Beatty.

The Rocks earned their 22nd championship overall, tying them with Highlands for the state record.

Trinity senior receiver and Mr. Football candidate James Quick, who missed the last two games with a rib injury, was back on the field against PRP. He made his presence felt in the third quarter when he caught a pair of 35-yard touchdown passes in a span of 12 seconds.

Travis Wright threw the first strike to Quick to make it 34-7. After PRP fumbled the kickoff, Quick snagged a TD pass from Cody Swabek.

This was the fourth year in a row Quick scored a TD in the state finals. He is believed to be the first player in state history to achieve that.

The Rocks had plenty of offense to go with Quick.

Dawkins, flashing his quick feet, ran 15 times for 163 yards and three TDs, and had four catches for 69 yards.

Wright completed 15 of 29 passes for 239 yards and three TDs.

Trinity's defense gave up a TD to PRP late in the first half, but it was in lock-down mode the rest of the night and forced five turnovers.

The Rocks only led 6-0 after the first quarter on Wright's 1-yard TD toss to Alex Graehler.

But Trinity rang up three TDs in the second quarter, a pair of short runs by Dawkins and a 7-yard pass from Wright to Swabek.

PRP's only TD came late in the first half on a 14-yard pass from Spencer Sumpter to Davon Quisenberry.

Trinity outgained the Panthers 518 yards to 251.

This was the Rocks' eighth consecutive appearance in the finals. They won the title every time except for a loss to St. Xavier in 2009.

Trinity has won its last 28 games against Kentucky opponents.

PRP brought a 14-0 record into the finals, its best season in school history.

Mike Fields: (859) 231-3337. Twitter: @MikeFieldsNotes. Blog:

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service