Six inducted into Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame

ctruman@herald-leader.comJanuary 25, 2013 

The Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame inducted its first six members — Harriette Arnow, William Wells Brown, Harry Caudill, Elizabeth Madox Roberts, James Still and Robert Penn Warren — on Thursday evening.

Other finalists included historian Thomas D. Clark, writer/teacher Guy Davenport, journalist/novelist John Fox Jr., novelist Janice Holt Giles, novelist/poet/teacher James Baker Hall, Trappist monk/writer Thomas Merton and novelist/short story writer Jesse Stuart.

In this first year of the Hall of Fame, nominees were limited to writers who are no longer living.

That aside, "We tried to be as inclusive as possible," said Neil Chethik, executive director of the Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning, which hosts the Hall of Fame and held the announcement celebration on Thursday evening.

Cheryl Truman: (859)231-3202. Twitter: @CherylTruman

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service