A'dia Mathies: Kentucky Sportsman of the Year finalist

January 29, 2013 

We are revealing, in alphabetical order, the 10 finalists for the 2012 Lexington Herald-Leader Kentucky Sportsman of the Year award. The winner will be announced Thursday night simultaneously on Kentucky.com and at the Bluegrass Sports Award Banquet. Complete results will be in Friday's Herald-Leader.

What she did in 2012: Kentucky women's basketball star was SEC Player of the Year and led the Cats to the SEC regular season title and their second NCAA Tournament round of eight appearance in three years.

Voter comment: "Mathies was the best player in the best women's basketball conference in the country." — Chip Cosby, cn|2 Sports, Louisville

Previously announced finalists: Teddy Bridgewater, John Calipari, Randall Cobb, Anthony Davis, Dermontti Dawson, Tom Jurich, Michael Kidd-Gilchrist

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service