Education Notes: Feb. 13

February 12, 2013 


■ Thirty-five students have been selected to serve on the 2013 Kentucky State Fair Young Adult Project Advisory Council. It is the largest council named since the program began in 2009, and the students represent 30 high schools and colleges in Kentucky and Southern Indiana.

YAP Advisory Council members serve on one of three committees: music, agriculture, and marketing and social media.

The Young Adult Project is an initiative of the Kentucky State Fair to involve young adults, ages 14-20, in planning, promoting and producing innovative new Kentucky State Fair programs for their peers. The YAP Advisory Council works with State Fair staff members to book youth bands and develop programming for the YAP Tent on the Thrillway.

Members of the YAP agriculture committee are George Bittel, Daviess County; Patrick Campbell, Montgomery County; Rachel Hinton, Taylor County; Allie Ingram, Green County; Kyle Mobley, Hardin County; Victoria Mohon, Muhlenberg County; Caitlin Ross, Mason County; Julia Scott, Hart County; Isaac Thompson, Taylor County; McKenna Vierstra, Hart County; Vasi Wilk, Hardin County; and Kaitlyn Wooton, Jessamine County.

Members of the marketing and social media committee are Tiffany Browning, Taylor County; Sara Butler, Barren County; Payton Carter, Nelson County; Paige Hart, Caldwell County; Bailey Latham, Hardin County; Rebecca Mackey, Hardin County; Morgan Mayer, Spencer County; Alison Ray, Hardin County; Erica Rogers, Calloway County; Kylie Smith, Jefferson County; and Sarah Warren, Jessamine County.

Members of the music committee are Cassidy Blair, Taylor County; Ashlee Brown, Webster County; Kearsten Connelly, Boone County; Ashley Cottrell, LaRue County; Ali Darst, Jefferson County; Chelsea Davis, Bullitt County; Alison Nelson, Jefferson County; Richie Powers, Jessamine County; Alexandra Schulz, Clark County, Ind.; Trey Shapanus, Jefferson County; Sam Stricker, Floyd County, Ind.; and Kayla Williams, Nelson County.

Zachary Ross, an eighth-grader at Winburn Middle School, is one of three students in the country to earn a perfect score on the regional qualifying exam for the 2013 National History Bee.

Zachary, classmates Thirushan Wignakumar and Sameer Ahmed, and sixth-grader Max Bograd advance to the April 8 regional contest at host Paul Laurence Dunbar High School. They will vie for the opportunity to represent the Lexington Region in the national championship June 1 in Atlanta.

Cornel Carter of Cardinal Valley Elementary is the Asbury Educator of the Month for February. He received an award, a $50 gift card to Rafferty's and a framed copy of the Lexington Family Magazine article announcing the award winner at the Feb. 5 faculty meeting.

Carter is in his third year as home/school liaison at Cardinal Valley; he also worked at Northern and Russell elementaries. Janice Wyatt-Ross, a consultant at Cardinal Valley, nominated him for the award.

Lexington Family Magazine collects nominations for Educator of the Month, and the honorees are selected by sponsor Asbury University.


Roger Drake will leave his post as Lindsey Wilson College vice president for administration and finance to become the next president of Central Methodist University. He will assume the office July 1. Drake, who has been Lindsey Wilson's chief financial officer since 2004, will become the 26th president in Central Methodist's 159-year history.

■ On Friday, the Kentucky Music Educators Association presented the 2013 Friend of Music Award to the Schmidt Opera Outreach Program during its annual Professional Development Conference awards ceremony in Louisville. This award honors achievement by an individual, organization or corporation other than one engaged professionally in music education.

In 2003, the University of Kentucky Opera Theatre and the Lexington Opera Society, under the direction of professor Everett McCorvey, established an opera outreach and education program at the School of Music in the UK College of Fine Arts. Since 2007, under the new sponsorship of the William E. Schmidt Foundation, the arts have become accessible to the children of Kentucky through SOOP.


Sayre School's 29th annual F. Kevin Simon History Symposium for secondary history and social studies teachers took place Feb. 2 on the Sayre campus. This year's symposium, "Focusing on the Environment: U.S. History with a New Lens," featured speakers Thomas Andrews, University of Colorado, Boulder; Mark Fiege, Colorado State University; and Shannon Bell, University of Kentucky.

In 2002 the symposium was named in memory and honor of its founder and director, F. Kevin Simon.

For more information or questions, visit

Toyota Motor Manufacturing Kentucky recently pledged $125,000 toward a new matching grant campaign at Georgetown College. Toyota's gift will be used to match support from individuals and organizations, and the total dollars raised will underwrite scholarship support for underserved, minority students.

Georgetown College is now asking individual and corporate citizens to invest in the Toyota Match Campaign.

For more information, contact Deborah Sewell at (502) 863-8037 or email

■ Transylvania University's Office of Sustainability will present its second annual Community Supported Agriculture Fair from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Friday in the Clive M. Beck Athletic Center, on Haupt Circle off Broadway. The fair will feature local farmers serving Fayette County, farmers markets and other local food initiatives. Booths will be set up to provide information and there will be farm goods for sale.

Registration is under way for the 2013-14 academic year in Fayette County Public Schools. Any child who turns 5 on or before Oct. 1 can enroll in full-day kindergarten. Families may sign up for the Early Start preschool program if their child turns 4 before Oct. 1 and is income-eligible. Three- and 4-year-olds (before Oct. 1) and who have a special need may also attend Early Start.

To enroll a child in FCPS, families should visit the school their neighborhood is assigned to and fill out a registration packet. To determine which school, use the online street directory at or call (859) 381-4315.


The Burley Tobacco Growers Cooperative Association is accepting scholarship applications for the 2013-14 school year.

The BTGCA will award four $1,000 scholarships on the basis of the student's overall grade-point average, writing ability, and leadership potential. The BTGCA will show preference to applicants with a tobacco farming background.

The 2013 BTGCA Scholarship application is available on the BTGCA website,, or by calling (859) 252-3561. Applications must be postmarked by April 1 and mailed to the BTGCA office.

Training events

Sayre School will host Orton-Gillingham training (a reading instruction method) 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Feb. 18-22. The training is open to educators and parents throughout Central Kentucky. The program teaches the revised Orton-Gillingham methodology, assessment, higher level skills and the tools to implement this program into an existing curriculum. Cost is $975. For information, visit or call (800) 646-9788.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service