Kentucky's Mathies repeats as SEC's player of year

Staff, Wire ReportsMarch 19, 2013 


A'dia Mathies averaged 16.0 points, 4.5 rebounds and 2.3 assists per game this season and became Kentucky's No. 2 career scorer.


ATLANTA — Kentucky guard A'dia Mathies has been named the Southeastern Conference women's player of the year by The Associated Press for the second season in a row.

The 5-foot-9 senior kept the award in the Bluegrass State for the fourth straight year overall. Kentucky's Victoria Dunlap won in 2010 and 2011 before Mathies went back-to-back for the Wildcats.

Tennessee claimed the other two awards announced Tuesday. Holly Warlick, who took over for the ailing Pat Summitt, was a unanimous choice as AP coach of the year. Freshman center Bashaara Graves was named newcomer of the year on every ballot.

Mathies also repeated as a unanimous first-team choice. She was joined on the squad by Texas A&M center Kelsey Bone, Tennessee guard Meighan Simmons, LSU forward Theresa Plaisance and Vanderbilt forward Tiffany Clarke.

Kentucky junior center DeNesha Stallworth was named to the second team.

The 2013 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference women's basketball team released Tuesday, with name, school, position, height and class:


A'dia Mathies, Kentucky, G, 5-9, Sr. (unanimous)

Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M, C, 6-4, Jr.

Meighan Simmons, Tennessee, G , 5-9, Jr.

Theresa Plaisance, LSU, F, 6-5, Jr.

Tiffany Clarke, Vanderbilt, F, 6-0, Sr.


Jasmine Hassell, Georgia, F, 6-2, Sr.

Bashaara Graves, Tennessee, F-C, 6-2, Fr.

DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky, C, 6-3, Jr.

Ieasia Walker, South Carolina, G, 5-8, Sr.

Hasina Muhammad, Auburn, G, 6-1, So.


Martha Alwal, Mississippi State, C, 6-4, So.; Jaterra Bonds, Florida, G, 5-7, Jr.; Kristi Bellock, Texas A&M, F, 6-1, Sr.; Jennifer George, Florida, F, 6-0, Sr.; Jasmine James, Georgia, G, 5-9, Sr.; Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt, G, 5-4, Jr.; Adrienne Pratcher, Texas A&M, G, 5-7, Sr.; Adrienne Webb, LSU, G, 5-9, Sr.; Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina, F. 6-0, So.

Player of the Year: A'dia Mathies, Kentucky

Coach of the Year: Holly Warlick, Tennessee

Newcomer of the Year: Bashaara Graves, Tennessee

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service