Hawkins new Kentucky Mr. Basketball; Epps Miss Basketball

mfields@herald-leader.comMarch 29, 2013 


    Mr. Basketball

    2013 Dominique Hawkins Madison Central

    2012 Nathan Dieudonne Trinity

    2011 Anthony Hickey Christian Co.

    2010 Elisha Justice Shelby Valley

    2009 Jon Hood Madisonville

    2008 Darius Miller Mason Co.

    2007 Steffphon Pettigrew E-town

    2006 Walt Allen South Laurel

    2005 Domonic Tilford Jeffersontown

    2004 Chris Lofton Mason Co.

    2003 Ross Neltner Highlands

    2002 Brandon Stockton Glasgow

    2001 Josh Carrier Bowling Green

    2000 Scott Hundley Scott Co.

    1999 Rick Jones Scott Co.

    1998 J.R. VanHoose Paintsville

    1997 Brandon Davenport Owensboro

    1996 Daymeon Fishback Greenwood

    1995 Charles Thomas Harlan

    1994 Elton Scott Marion Co.

    1993 Jason Osborne Male

    1992 Tick Rogers Hart Co.

    1991 Jermaine Brown Fairdale

    1990 Dwayne Morton Central

    1989 Allan Houston Ballard

    1988 Richie Farmer Clay Co.

    1987 John Pelphrey Paintsville

    1986 Rex Chapman Apollo

    1985 Tony Kimbro Seneca

    1984 Steve Miller Henry Clay

    1983 Winston Bennett Male

    1982 Todd May Virgie

    1981 Phil Cox Cawood

    1980 Ervin Stepp Phelps

    1979 Dirk Minniefield Lafayette

    1978 Doug Schloemer Holmes

    1977 Jeff Lamp Ballard

    1976 Darrell Griffith Male

    1975 Dom Fucci Tates Creek

    1974 Jack Givens Bryan Station

    1973 Wesley Cox Male

    1972 Jerry Thruston Owensboro

    1971 Jimmy Dan Conner Anderson Co.

    1970 Robert Brooks Madison

    1969 Ron King Central

    1968 Terry Davis Shelby Co.

    1967 Jim McDaniels Allen Co.

    1966 Mike Casey Shelby Co.

    1965 Butch Beard Breckinridge Co.

    1964 Wes Unseld Seneca

    1963 Mike Redd Seneca

    1962 Mike Silliman St. Xavier

    1961 Randy Embry Owensboro

    1960 Jeff Mullins Lafayette

    1959 Pat Doyle North Marshall

    1958 Harry Todd Earlington

    1958 Ralph Richardson Russell Co.

    1957 Billy Ray Lickert Lafayette

    1956 Kelly Coleman Wayland

    Miss Basketball

    2013 Makayla Epps Marion Co.

    2012 Sydney Moss Boone Co.

    2011 Sara Hammond Rockcastle Co.

    2010 Sarah Beth Barnette LCA

    2009 A'dia Mathies Iroquois

    2008 Tia Gibbs Butler

    2007 Rebecca Gray Scott Co.

    2006 Arnika Brown Christian Co.

    2005 Carly Ormerod Sacred Heart

    2004 Crystal Kelly Sacred Heart

    2003 Megen Gearhart West Carter

    2002 Erica Hallman Holmes

    2001 Katie Schwegmann Brossart

    2000 enni Benningfield Assumption

    1999 Jody Sizemore Leslie Co.

    1998 Beth Vice Montgomery Co.

    1997 Rachel Byars Union Co.

    1996 Jaime Walz Highlands

    1995 Ukari Figgs Scott Co.

    1994 Laurie Townsend Apollo

    1993 Brandi Ashby Webster Co.

    1992 Becky McKinley Bullitt East

    1991 Ida Bowen Sheldon Clark

    1990 Kim Mays Knox Central

    1989 Lisa Harrison Southern

    1988 Kim Pehlke Doss

    1987 Mary Taylor Marshall Co.

    1986 Kris Miller Owensboro Catholic

    1985 Brigette Combs Whitesburg

    1984 Carol Parker Marshall Co.

    1983 Clemette Haskins Warren Central

    1982 Connie Goins Western Hills

    1981 Lillie Mason Olmstead

    1980 Lisa Collins Laurel Co.

    1979 Beth Wilkerson Paris

    1978 Irene Moore Breathitt Co.

    1977 Geri Grigsby McDowell

    1976 Donna Murphy Newport

LOUISVILLE — March has been marvelous for Madison Central's Dominique Hawkins and Marion County's Makayla Epps. In the past few weeks they've led their teams to state titles, been named Sweet Sixteen MVPs, and been selected Gatorade players of the year in Kentucky.

Now they can add Mr. and Miss Basketball honors to their list of accomplishments.

The sponsoring Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation announced the award winners Friday night at a banquet at the Seelbach Hilton Hotel.

Hawkins said winning Mr. Basketball "wasn't on his radar" when the season began because he figured Derek Willis of Bullitt East, who signed with Kentucky in November, had it all but locked up.

"But when we got to the state (tournament), I thought I could win it," he said.

"This means the world to me. I couldn't have done it without my teammates, coaches, family and friends.

"I'm just a young guy who plays Kentucky basketball, and I win Mr. Basketball. That's crazy. That's something you dream about."

Epps said winning Miss Basketball was "the icing on the cake at the end of a great senior year. Winning the state title, being a McDonald's All-American ...

"This tops it all. This is it."

In a vote by coaches and media, Hawkins was chosen over four other finalists: Willis and Rusty Troutman of Bullitt East, Omar Prewitt of Montgomery County, and Darryl Hicks of Trinity.

Hawkins, a 6-foot-1 guard, scored a school-record 2,453 points in his career. He averaged 20 points, five rebounds and three assists this season. He averaged 27 points and nine rebounds in the Sweet Sixteen.

"If you ever had a poster child for Mr. Basketball, this would be the one," Madison Central Coach Allen Feldhaus Jr. said. "Dominique's a great player and a great person."

Hawkins has yet to make a college choice. He is hopeful UK will offer a scholarship, but he said he expects to make a decision after he spends next week's spring break in Florida. He has offers from South Carolina, Purdue, Western Kentucky and Morehead State, among others.

Hawkins wore a blue vest and blue tie, and had a blue pocket square. He said there was no meaning to his choice of color other than, "blue is my favorite color."

Epps was chosen Miss Basketball over four other finalists: Becca Greenwell of Owensboro Catholic, Marion County teammate Kyvin Goodin-Rogers, Larryn Brooks of Madison Central and China Dow of Louisville Christian.

Epps, the daughter of former UK player Anthony Epps, said she "thought it was 50-50, me or Becca.

"To win it is a huge honor, a blessing."

Epps, a 5-foot-11 guard, scored a school-record 3,321 points in her career. She averaged 23 points, 5.5 rebounds and 5.5 assists this season in leading Marion County to a 39-0 record. The Knights became the first unbeaten state champ since Marshall County in 1984.

Marion County Coach Trent Milby said Epps "played at a high level all season, and played every game like it was her last game.

"She's the best scorer I ever coached. She scored 3,300 points, but she could've had over 4,000, but she's so unselfish and she also had a bunch of talented teammates.

"All Makayla cared about was winning."

Mike Fields: (859) 231-3337 Twitter: @MikeFieldsNotes Blog: fieldsnotes.bloginky.com

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service