Education notes

Education notes: Gatton College team shares SEC MBA Case Competition award

May 1, 2013 


■ A team of students from the University of Kentucky's Gatton College of Business and Economics brought home a share of the Team Sportsmanship Award at the inaugural Southeastern Conference MBA Case Competition hosted by the University of Missouri in April.

The four UK students, all part of Gatton's accelerated one-year MBA program, are Eric Bodge of Washington, W.Va., Toni Cannon of Owensboro, Sam Palmer of Madisonville and Kelsey Underwood of Louisville. Mississippi State University's four-person team tied UK's squad in the voting for the sportsmanship award.

Ebony Nava, a Bluegrass Community & Technical College student, has been named one of USA Today's 20 winners of the 2013 All-USA Community College Academic Team and Coca-Cola New Century Scholars program. Nava will receive a $2,000 scholarship and plaque at the American Association of College Presidents Convention in San Francisco.

BCTC student Mark Simonds was recognized as PTK International Distinguished Chapter Member.

Judi Conrad, a longtime volunteer in Fayette County Public Schools, will sign off this summer as host of Channel 13's Parents in Action, which debuted in April 1993.

The final taping of Parents in Action is set for June 18, and the show will cycle off the air by July 1. Conrad will continue to host Homemade Math and occasional special programs.

Jodie Baker, a volunteer at Mary Todd Elementary for five years, has received the statewide Volunteer Service Award, which recognizes an individual who has met a community need in an innovative and effective manner.

Baker's grandson is a fifth-grader at the school. She tallied roughly 1,400 hours at Mary Todd during 2012, providing office support, serving as PTA board secretary and as a member of the Family Resource Center advisory board and the school's Wellness Committee, organizing the book room, planning the fall festival and helping in other ways. Her honor is among the 12 annual Governor's Awards for Volunteerism and Service.


■ National education consultant Donna Whyte will present You Can't Teach a Class You Can't Manage and First 30 Days — Creating Classroom Success from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. June 6 at The Lexington School. $100 fee includes lunch. Seven training hours. In addition, a free event for preschoolers and their parents will be 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. June 5. To register or for more information, email or visit


The Bluegrass Indo-American Civic Society's 26th Annual Awards Banquet will be Sunday at Embassy Suites on Newtown Pike. This year, BIACS will award 15 $1,000 scholarships at the banquet. The guests of honor are Dr. Michael Karpf, executive vice president for Health Affairs at UK Health Care, and William North, executive director of HealthFirst Bluegrass.

BIACS 2013Scholarship Recipients

Toyota Merit Scholarships: Leia Wedlund, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, Fayette County; Sravya Vishnubhatla, DuPoint Manual High School, Jefferson County

Toyota Scholarship: Joshua Lynn Wood, Muhlenberg County High School

Ambassador Kewal Singh Memorial Merit Scholarship: Jessie Y. Li, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, Fayette County

Rangaswamy-Srinivasan Scholarship: Felicia Kylie Perkins, Owen County High School

Jaishree Bansal Scholarship: Courtney Lee Wright, Casey County High School

Pramod Bhagat Scholarship for career in engineering: Victoria Laren Potter, Paducah Tilghman High School, McCraken County

Dr. Madhira Dasarathi Ram Scholarship: Shelli Paige Cierra Hurt, Clay County High School

Drs. Gopal & Mina Majmundar scholarship: LaTracia Sue Burchett, Betsy Layne High School, Floyd County

Dr. Jyotin and Mrs. Bhanu Chandarana Merit Scholarship: Kasey Janelle Collins, Allen Central High School, Floyd County

Sitaramayya Polisetty Memorial Scholarship: Brent Austin Richey, Logan County High School

Sivagnannlingam-Toddywalla Memorial Scholarship: Kaitlyn Morgan Jordan, North Hardin High School, Hardin County

BIACS — Scholarship: Lacy Elizabeth Walker, Christian County High School

Dr. Ramakrishna Rao Rapuri Memorial Scholarship: Tiffany Morgan Hudson, Breathitt High School, Jackson County

Dr. Shashi Sathaye Memorial Scholarship for UK Graduate Studies, Ravinder Kumar Garlapalli, University of Kentucky, School of Engineering


Applications are available for children of Thoroughbred horse farm workers. Scholarships toward tuition will be awarded to high school graduates going to college or technical training after high school. Awards are based upon financial need, merit, written essay and a personal interview. Potential applicants may call (859) 269-1719 for an application.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service