education notes

Education notes for week of June 17

June 19, 2013 

WKU chemistry award Zachariah Aaron Claytor, a Western Kentucky University student from Lexington, right, received the Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry from the WKU Department of Chemistry. The award was presented by Chad Snyder, left, a professor in the Department of Chemistry at WKU.


Macy Lauren Early, a 2013 graduate of Henry Clay High School, has been selected as one of 33 students to join the new class of Jefferson Scholars at the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Va. Macy is the daughter of Larry and Judy Early of Lexington. Awarded solely on the basis of merit, Jefferson Scholarships provide full financial support for four years of study at U.Va. Macy graduated from Henry Clay High School as a National Merit Scholarship Finalist, a Coca-Cola Scholar and a member of the National Honor Society.

■ The Sayre Upper School Chorus participated in the Music in the Parks competition on April 20 in Pigeon Forge, Tenn. The chorus received a superior rating, finished in first place in its division, and was awarded overall best high school choir.

The Sayre Middle School Chorus has participated in the Cincinnati Music in the Parks for 10 years and competed again in May against 33 ensembles, including several from Lexington. The Middle School Chorus earned a superior rating for the 10th consecutive year and received the award for Best Overall Middle School/Junior High Choir. Sayre also earned the highest score (97.5/100) of all of the ensembles that performed.

Upper School Choral Director: Amy Berryman. Accompanist: Becky Shaw. Choir participants: Lucie Allen, Ann Frances Backer, Morgan Barnhardt, Genevieve Borrowdale-Cox, Abby Clayton, Lisa Cole, Lucie Cunningham, Morgan Garrett, Shelby Harris, Maddie Hils, Jesse Klus, Mills Maloney, Annie Marcum, Ariel Marksbury, Ellie Miller, Madison Montgomery, Izzy O'Daniel, Kinley Perry, Madison Plucknett, Gillian Pruitt, Alexa Rose and Sarah Reach. Members unable to attend the competition were Madi Bates and Emma Johnson.

Middle School Choral Director: Todd Terry. Participants: Janie Bilberry, Allison Harris, Lauren Harris, Missy Hill, Zach Hils, Karuna Lakhiani, Wrennie Lambert, Tabor Little, Elizabeth Ord, Sydney Porter, Abigail Prewitt, Rena Sakai, Reade Smith, Madigan Stockam and Lainie Tew.

■ These five University of Kentucky faculty members have been awarded Fulbright program scholarships: Alan Fryar, a professor of earth and environmental sciences in the UK College of Arts and Sciences, who will do research in Fez, Morocco; Kristin Monroe, a professor of anthropology, in the College of Arts and Sciences, who will do research in Beirut, Lebanon; Michael Samers, a professor of geography, in the College of Arts and Sciences, who will do research in Lille, France; Paul Vincelli, a professor of plant pathology, in the UK College of Agriculture, who will do research in Montevideo, Uruguay and Nicaragua; Matthew Zook, a professor of geography, in the College of Arts and Sciences, who will do research in Tartu, Estonia.

■ Six Sayre School students received a perfect score on the AP U.S. History exam: Will Forbess, Harry Gamble, Mason Hill, John Schwarcz, Ben Tucker and Tadhg Young. The students each received a Jefferson Cup in honor of a gift Thomas Jefferson received from his teacher, George Wythe.

David L. Laskey, son of Jeannie and Robert Laskey of Lexington, has become a member of Phi Sigma Theta National Honor Society at the University of Kentucky.

Will Kimmerer, a Sayre School student, has received an honorable mention in the category of Environment at ISWEEEP, the International Sustainable World Energy Engineering & Environment Project in Houston. Almost 400 projects were presented from more than 60 countries.

The Vassar College Club of Central Kentucky has presented Vassar College Book Awards to the outstanding high school junior class member in a foreign language who has at least attained the third level. The 2013 recipients are: Bryan Station High School: Yuriko Gonzalez; Henry Clay High School: Michael Kamer; Paul Laurence Dunbar High School: Aidan Southworth; Lafayette High School: Marie Armbruster; Lexington Catholic High School: Maxwell Leslie; Lexington Christian Academy: Lauren Harris; Sayre School: Julian Mok; Tates Creek Senior High School: Nolan Phillips.

The Kentucky Association of Professional Educators has awarded the following 2013 scholarships:

Teacher Mentor/Star Student Scholarship: Ashley Barbour, facilitator of the Liberal Arts Academy at Henry Clay High School, and graduating senior Dylan Sarkisian; and Catherine Jaquith Stephens, Social Studies Chair at Henry Clay High School, and graduating senior Jeffrey Goens

$500 Continued Professional Development Scholarship: Jordan Yeager, Paris High School, and Kate Johnson, Henry Clay High School

Family Member Scholarship: Katelyn Miller, graduate of Scott County High School

$500 Student Teacher Scholarships: Sarah Wallace, Asbury University; and Stephanie Abrams, Asbury University.

Heather Nicole Haggard, the daughter of David and Tina Haggard of Lexington, has been inducted into Mu Chapter of Lambda Sigma Honor Society at Eastern Kentucky University. Heather is a nursing student at EKU. Mu Chapter of Lambda Sigma Honor Society is a national organization that fosters leadership, scholarship, fellowship and the spirit of service among college students.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service