Fairness Awards presented to gay-equality advocates

June 21, 2013 

Lexington Fairness presented its six annual Fairness Awards on Friday night at the Hilton Lexington/Downtown Hotel. The organization honored five community leaders for their commitment to advancing lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender equality and fairness.

Recipients are: Stephanie Oghia, Ally for Fairness Award; the Rev. Marsha Charles, Jennifer Crossen Out for Fairness Award; Fred Worsham and Shotz Witha Z, Fairness Leadership Award; and Craig Cammack, Ernesto Scorsone Political Leadership Award.

Recipients are chosen from nominations submitted by the public and selected by a committee of volunteer leaders from LGBT community organizations.

The Fairness Awards came a week before the Lexington Pride Festival, which will be June 29 in downtown Lexington.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service