Blue Grass Trust honors preservation work

jpatton1@herald-leader.comJune 23, 2013 

The Centre Family House at Shakertown in Pleasant Hill near Harrodsburg , Ky., Wednesday, November, 16, 2011. This is the 50th anniversary year of the foundation that saved Shaker Village at Pleasant Hill.

CHARLES BERTRAM | STAFF — Lexington Herald-Leader Buy Photo

The Blue Grass Trust on Sunday honored Central Kentuckians for efforts in historic preservation. Founded in 1955, the trust has helped to save the Hunt-Morgan House, the Dudley House, Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill, the Adam Rankin House, Henry Clay's law office, Belle Brezing's row houses, the Mary Todd Lincoln House, the Stilfield Log House and Benjamin Latrobe's Pope Villa, among others.

Winners of the 2013 Historic Preservation Awards were:

■ Preservation Craftsman Awards to George Neel and Prajna Design (Garry Murphy and David Wittmer), given to building industry craftsmen who exhibited strong commitment to quality craftsmanship for historic buildings.

■ Public Service to Preservation Awards to Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government's Derek Paulsen, commissioner of planning, and Janet Graham, commissioner of law, given to government agencies or officials for service to preservation movement or a specific project.

■ Clay Lancaster Heritage Education Award to Bluegrass Renaissance, with editors Daniel Rowland and James Klotter accepting on behalf of the essayists, given for service in researching and disseminating information about Central Kentucky.

■ Community Preservation Award to North Limestone Neighborhood Association, with Griffin VanMeter accepting, given to a non-governmental organization or individual for service to the preservation movement or a specific project.

■ Barbara Hulette Award to Ashland Park Neighborhood Association, with the Rev. Bob Sessum, Wanda Jaquith and Tony Chamblin accepting, given for efforts in the preservation of Central Kentucky's history, heritage, built environment, landscape, archaeological resources, sense of community or significant endeavors.

■ Lucy Shropshire Crump Award to Estill Curtis Pennington for exemplary service to the Blue Grass Trust throughout the year.

■ Lucy Graves Advocacy Award to publisher Peter Brackney for Kaintuckeean blog, for advocacy leadership in supporting the historic preservation movement in Central Kentucky.

■ Betty Hoopes Volunteer Service Award to Brenda Pettit, given to a volunteer from the Antiques and Garden Show Committee.

■ Clyde Reynolds Carpenter Adaptive Re-Use Award to The Bread Box, with Ben Self, Brady Barlow and Joe Kuosman accepting, for outstanding efforts toward the rehabilitation and adaptive re-use of a building or buildings within Central Kentucky.

■ Landscape Preservation Awards to Vaucluse (Clay Hancock); Botherum (Jon Carloftis and Dale Fisher); and the Garden of Dorothy Crutcher Cordray (Joseph Hillenmeyer Garden Design), a new award for preservation, design, stewardship, restoration or enhancement of an historic cultural landscape in the Bluegrass.

■ John Wesley Hunt Award to H. Foster Pettit for lifetime service to the preservation movement in Central Kentucky.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service