education notes

Education Notes for week of July 1

July 3, 2013 


Emily K. Dixon, a graduate of Transylvania University, has been awarded a James Madison Fellowship by the James Madison Memorial Foundation in Alexandria, Va. James Madison Fellowships support the further study of American history by aspiring or experienced teachers of American history, American government and social studies.

The fellowship will fund up to $24,000 of Dixon's course of study toward a master's degree, which must include a concentration of courses on the history and principles of the U.S. Constitution.

■ The Bryan Station Chapter of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution presented awards to the following middle and high school students at a luncheon at McConnell Springs June 5: Erin McMurray, a Bryan Station High School senior, received The Good Citizen Award; Grant Knox, Bryan Station senior, received the Louise Swinford Wieman Leadership Award; Olivia Jennings, an eighth-grader from Edythe J. Hayes Middle School, read her poem, "Investing in America's Future," which won first place in the National Junior American Citizen's Contest; Cadet Alyssa Elliott received the JROTC Bronze Medal.

Eastern Kentucky University's Aviation Program has received renewal of its Part 141 certificate from the Louisville Federal Aviation Administration Flight Standards District Office. To receive renewal, the EKU program had to achieve an 80 percent or higher first-attempt pass rate on FAA written exams and FAA practical exams (check rides) during the last two years.

■ Among the six recent inductees into Eastern Kentucky University's Hall of Distinguished Alumni were three Richmond residents: Rev. Robert Blythe, pastor of First Baptist Church and city commissioner; Circuit Judge Jean Chenault Logue; and Janna Vice, provost and vice president for academic affairs at EKU. Another Richmond resident, David McFaddin, executive director of government relations for EKU, was presented with a Distinguished Service Award. Ezra Engling and Karen Millsap received the EKU International Alumni Association's Award for Teaching Excellence.

■ The following area students were selected for the 2013 session of the Governor's School for the Arts, where they are studying architecture, creative writing, dance, drama, instrumental music, musical theater, new media, visual art or vocal music. The rising juniors and seniors are immersed in seminars, workshops, field trips and other enrichment activities through July 13 at Transylvania University: Sara Arthur-Paratley, visual art, Bryan Station High School; Zachary Byrd and James Piper, instrumental music, both of Henry Clay High School; Dorothy Berryman, visual art, Laura Briggs, dance, Adam Brown, vocal music, Aaron Burns, instrumental music, Katherine Cornett, vocal music, Clark Davis, vocal music, Taylor Eggers, instrumental music, Kelsey Francke, drama, Emily Lake, dance, Stella Lee, dance, William Lovan, instrumental music, Sarah MacDonald, instrumental music, Brianna Mayo, drama, Anna Marie Miller, musical theatre, Caroline Pellegrino, musical theatre, Jonah Robinson, drama, Claire Rose, dance, Rowan Schaefer, vocal music, Julie Wilson, drama, and William Wood, architecture, all of Lafayette High School; Craig Blair Jr., creative writing, Philip Ewing, instrumental music, Courtney Hausman, musical theatre, Allison Laski, new media, Alice Li, instrumental music, Morgan Quick, instrumental music, Dylan Rowe, instrumental music, and Mika Tuzon, creative writing, all of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School; Terrence Dankwa, architecture, Tates Creek High School; Ramsey Adams, dance, and Julie Huster, dance, both of Woodford County High School; Sarah Baker, new media, Abigail Curtis, instrumental music, Madeline Hughes, instrumental music, Lauren Martin, vocal music, Corey Phelps, new media, all of Scott County High School; Jessica Brewster, visual art, and Courtney Cox, instrumental music, both of East Jessamine High School; William Bright, musical theater, and Matthew Hahnes, visual art, both of Anderson County High School; Wesley Byers, musical theater, Mary Haddix, instrumental music, Aryn Singer, visual art, all of Madison Central High School; Joseph Cheek, musical theater, Daniel Foster, vocal music, and Connor Moore, instrumental music, all of Franklin County High School; Emily (Emma) Crump, instrumental music, Berea Community High School; Emily Eaton, creative writing, Frankfort High School; Sadie Grace Hammond, dance, home school, Clark County; William Haydon, instrumental music, Montgomery County High School; Tariq Onodu, architecture, Western Hills High School; John Pennington, vocal music, Model Lab High School, Madison County; and Stephen Wright, instrumental music, home school, Jessamine County.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service