education notes

Education Notes: Sept. 11

September 10, 2013 


■ The Leadership Lexington Youth Class of 2013-2014 is comprised of 45 high school juniors who will interact with community leaders and talk about careers, business opportunities and post-secondary options. Students are selected for the eight-month program after a competitive application process in the spring.

Class members are: Desmond Howard, Katie Kuhn, Allison Peoples, Katherine Wright and Korie Yates, Bryan Station; Henry Clay High School: Ross Boggess, Aaron Clark, Andrew Hoyt, Saba Khandani, Angela Maske, Sydney Smith and Sofi Tzouanakis, Henry Clay High School; Amna Al-Jumaily, Ben Eckert, Amelia Giancarlo, Nima Mahmoodi, Brianna Mayo, Mariah Mowbray, Esther Putman, Katie Swim and Zach Thornton, Lafayette High School; Kelsey Folsom, Meghana Kudrimoti, Sahil Nair, Daniel Wahl and Eric Xiong, Paul Laurence Dunbar; Michaela Carter, Raaziq El-Amin, Cassidy Mullins, Tapas Parikh, Josh Rickert and Kylie Russ, Tates Creek High School; Will Deaton, Chelsea Faught, Courtney Fraher, Lauren Harper, Jacob Jansen, Josi Llanora, Molly O'Mera and Tiana The', Lexington Catholic; Megan McIntosh and Frederick Rupp, Lexington Christian Academy; Ashley Hayes, Montessori High School; Elisabeth Dawahare and John Newton, Sayre.

LLY takes students out of school one Wednesday a month to explore various segments of the community and see how they can make a difference. This year's schedule includes: Sept. 4, orientation; Oct. 2, ambassadors for change; Nov. 6, health and human services; Dec. 4, media and arts; Jan. 8, mid-year development; Feb. 5, higher education and career development; March 5, public safety and government; and April 9, reflection and graduation.

Dalton Knight has been named the state winner in the FFA Turfgrass Proficiency Career Development Event. Dalton was recognized at the 83rd State FFA Convention held in Lexington's Rupp Arena in June. Dalton's award was based on his Supervised Agricultural Experience Program in which he maintains 38 residential and commercial yards with the help of his father and brother. Dalton's proficiency went on to compete at the National level where it ranked gold, the highest ranking possible. The award is sponsored at the state level by the Bluegrass Region FFA in Memory of Neal Floyd, former agriculture teacher and FFA adviser in Jessamine County. John Deere is the national sponsor of this award for the National FFA Organization.

James Leavell-Greene, a student at Henry Clay High School, has been named a member of the National Society of High School Scholars. NSHSS recognizes scholars who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, scholarship and community involvement. For information about NSHSS, go to

Sandra Moore, associate provost for diversity planning at Eastern Kentucky University, has been inducted into the 2013 Williamson (W.Va.) High School Alumni Association Hall of Fame.

Moore, a Mingo County native, graduated from WHS in 1975. An honor student and athlete, she held leadership positions in many clubs and organizations. WHS was founded in 1910 and closed its doors in 2011, after 101 years of service.

Moore holds a bachelor's degree from Berea College, a master's degree from EKU and a doctoral degree from the University of Kentucky. She was nominated for the award by her husband, Tim, a 1969 WHS alumnus.


Eastern Kentucky University's Gamma Theta Chapter of Chi Omega will hold its 12th annual Just Wish for It! Walking for Wishes to benefit the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Kentucky at 5 p.m. Friday in Alumni Coliseum.

The event will include food, music, vendors, activities for children and entertainment for all ages. Prizes will be awarded and a T-shirt will be ordered for every participant raising at least $100. Donations should be turned in by 5 p.m. Sept. 13 to be eligible for prizes.

Proceeds from the $3 admission fee will help grant wishes to Kentucky children through the Make-A-Wish Foundation.

For information, contact Nikki Jackson, event chairperson, at (859) 803-3993 or

Eastern Kentucky University has partnered with The Institute for Aerospace Education, a consortium of high schools in Kentucky and bordering states that offers students seven different aerospace courses of studies.

From Murray to Middlesboro, the IAE program provides students courses in aircraft maintenance, aeronautical engineering, space systems engineering, flight/aeronautics, air traffic control, aviation management/operations, and aerospace computer engineering.

EKU has the only university-based aviation program in Kentucky. Eastern's Aviation Program recently became one of the first universities in the nation authorized by the Federal Aviation Administration to designate graduates as candidates for the 1,000-hour restricted Airline Transport Pilot certificate.

For information about the program, got to

Alltech and Kentucky State University have formalized a joint research alliance to develop sustainable farming techniques and modern farming models. Alltech will invest $75,000 a year toward research at KSU and will provide support for KSU graduate students' research and for demonstrations in agriculture, food sciences, sustainable systems and related fields. These investments will help develop an active graduate student training program and undergraduate internship program in sustainable farming as well as a merit-based program aimed at supporting future agricultural science development. The Alltech-KSU Sustainable Farming Alliance will operate from the KSU campus and has been established for an initial period of three years, at which time extension may be considered. It will be managed by a committee of three Alltech scientists and four KSU faculty members, and chaired by Teferi Tsegaye, dean of KSU's College of Agriculture, Food Science and Sustainable Systems and associate vice president for land grant.

Alltech has signed research alliances with more than a dozen universities and institutes around the world, including the University of Kentucky and Kentucky State University in the United States; NOFIMA in Norway; five of China's leading universities; Kochi University in Japan; Karnataka Veterinary, Animal and Fisheries Sciences University and Bangalore University in India; AgroSup Dijon in France; Harper Adams University in the United Kingdom; and Rivalea in Australia. A total of 18 research alliances are expected to be finalized by the close of 2013.


The Woodford County High School Class of 2003 will hold its 10-year high school reunion Oct. 11-12. Oct. 11, home football game against Franklin County; Oct. 12, tailgating at Keeneland; Oct. 12, 7:30 p.m.-midnight, dinner reception at Lexington's Downtown Hilton. For information and registration visit or email

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service