Half of 10 semifinalists for annual state teacher awards teach in Central Kentucky

October 8, 2013 


Ten teachers from across the state, including five from Central Kentucky, were named semifinalists Monday for the 2014 Kentucky Teacher of the Year award, according to a news release.

Winners at the elementary, middle and high school levels, and an overall winner, will be announced Oct. 16 in Frankfort, according to the release from the state department of education and Ashland Inc., the sponsor of the awards.

Semifinalists at the elementary level are: Holly Bloodworth, Murray Elementary, Murray Independent; Angela Pleasant, James E. Farmer Elementary, Jefferson County; and LenaKay E. Wilson, Mayfield Elementary, Madison County.

Competing for the middle school award are: Willow Hambrick, Royal Spring Middle, Scott County; Michelle W. Lustenberg, Phillip A. Sharp Middle, Pendleton County; and Melanie Trowel, Carter G. Woodson Academy, Fayette County.

The high school semifinalists are: Scot A. Gill, Tates Creek High and Catherine Vannatter, Bryan Station High, both in Fayette County; Craig Grimm, North Oldham High, Oldham County; and Joanna H. Stevens, Lincoln County High, Lincoln County.

The semifinalists are among 24 educators named 2014 Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards winners this year.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service