Personnel file

Personnel File local hires and promotions: Week of Nov. 18

November 18, 2013 


Eastern Kentucky University: A reorganization of the EKU Development Office has resulted in several additions to the staff as well as position changes. Carol Ford has joined the staff as Foundation Scholarship coordinator. Kirk David Jr., Kristen Bennett and Chris Cannon have joined the staff as development officers. Kari Martin has been named executive director of development. Johnna Whittamore has been named director of the annual fund. Jennifer Ott has been named assistant director of alumni relations.


Fifth Third Bank: Brett Tinch has joined the bank as a mortgage loan originator.


Kentucky Housing Corp.: Ann McDonald, a real estate broker and past president of the Kentucky Association of Realtors, has been reappointed by Governor Beshear to serve on the corporation's board of directors through Oct. 30, 2017. McDonald operates four real estate offices in Lexington, Richmond, Winchester and Georgetown for Coldwell Banker McMahan.

Kentucky League of Cities: The following have been elected officers and board members for 2013-14: Midway Mayor Tom Bozarth, president; Bardstown Mayor Bill Sheckles, first vice president; Williamsburg Mayor Roddy Harrison, second vice president; Lyndon Mayor Susan Barto, immediate past president; Jonathan Steiner, executive director/CEO; Simpsonville City Clerk Debbie Batliner; Richmond Mayor Jim Barnes; Pikeville City Manager Donovan Blackburn; Greensburg Mayor George Cheatham; Sadieville Mayor Claude Christensen; Carrollton council member Ann Deatherage; Somerset Mayor Eddie Girdler; Shelbyville Mayor Tom Hardesty; Middlesboro Mayor Bill Kelley; Hopkinsville Mayor Dan Kemp; Crestview Hills Mayor Paul Meier; Mayfield Mayor Teresa Rochetti-Cantrell; Louisa Mayor Teddy Preston. Region 1: Henderson Mayor Steve Austin; Paducah Mayor Gayle Kaler; Murray Mayor Bill Wells. Region 2: Elkton Mayor Nancy Camp; Madisonville Mayor David Jackson; Owensboro Commissioner Pamela Smith-Wright. Region 3: Bonnieville council member Sherman Bowman; Monticello Mayor Jeffrey Edwards; Bowling Green Mayor Bruce Wilkerson. Region 4: Jeffersontown Mayor Bill Dieruf; Elizabethtown council member Marty Fulkerson; Taylorsville Mayor Don Pay. Region 5: Taylor Mill Mayor Daniel Bell; Southgate Mayor James Hamberg; Williamstown Mayor Rick Skinner. Region 6: Lawrenceburg Mayor Edwinna Baker; Danville Mayor Bernie Hunstad; Nicholasville Mayor Russ Meyer. Region 7: London Mayor Troy Rudder; Corbin Mayor Willard McBurney; Manchester Mayor George Saylor. Region 8: Morehead Mayor David Perkins; Paintsville Mayor Bob Porter; Flemingsburg Mayor Martin Voiers. At-large directors: Covington Mayor Sherry Carran; Ashland Mayor Chuck Charles; Glasgow Mayor Rhonda Trautman; Versailles Mayor Brian Traugott; Mount Sterling Mayor Gary Williamson. Louisville and Lexington directors: Mayor Jim Gray, representative for LFUCG, Region 6; Mayor Gregory Fischer, representative for Louisville Metro, Region 4. KLC Past President: Maysville Mayor David Cartmell, Region 8. Former Executive Board Members: Winchester Mayor Ed Burtner, Region 6; Whitesburg Mayor James Craft, Region 4; Princeton Mayor Gale Cherry, Region 1; Florence Mayor Diane Whalen, Region 5. Governmental organization representatives: Crissy Upton, president, Kentucky Municipal Clerks Association; Larisa Sims, representative, Kentucky Chapter American Planning Association; W. Scott Crabtree, president, Municipal Attorneys Association of Kentucky; Robert W. Martin, president, Kentucky Government Finance Officers Association; Marlon Sams, representative, Kentucky Recreation and Park Society; Tim Williams, representative, Kentucky City Management Association; Guy Howie, representative, Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police; Wendell Wright, representative, Kentucky Chapter American Public Works Association; Missy Andress, president, Kentucky Public Human Resources Association; Greg Johnson, representative, Kentucky Association of Fire Chiefs; Dennis Michael Crist, representative, Code Administrators Association of Kentucky; Stan Holmes, representative, Kentucky Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials. Kentucky Commission of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing: Jeannie M. Taylor has been appointed commissioner by Governor Steve Beshear to represent Hearing Loss Association of America. She is employed as a special education teacher for the Allen County School District.

Kentucky Magistrates and Commissioners Association: J.C. Young of Frankfort has been named executive director, following the retirement of Richard Tanner, who served the organization for more than 20 years.

Eastern Kentucky University Center for the Arts: The following have been named to the Community Operations Board: Shannon Combs, representing the City of Richmond; Jerry Pogatshnik and Malcolm Frisbie, representing EKU; and Laurie Roelofs, representing the City of Berea. The following have been reappointed to the board: Jan Tunnell; board chair Harry Moberly, representing Madison County; and Marc Whitt, representing EKU. Other members of the board are Jill Price, Barry Poynter and Skip Daugherty, representing EKU; Kathy Eidson and Kent Clark, representing Madison County; and Ginny Rollins, representing the City of Richmond.

Kentucky State Board for the Certification of Librarians: Shannon M. Oltmann, an assistant professor at the University of Kentucky, has been named to the board. She represents professional librarians in a state university and will serve through June 30.


Lexington Legends Professional Baseball: David Barry has been named director of ticket operations.

Kentucky Teleworks: Tom Higgins has been named president of the work-from-home organization and service. As president, Higgins will help guide Kentucky Teleworks' latest efforts, including the Jan. 1, 2014 launch of a redesigned and revamped

Send items about professional personnel changes to or Personnel File, Business Monday, Lexington Herald-Leader, 100 Midland Avenue, Lexington, Ky. 40508. Include a contact person's name and number. All photos must be emailed as JPEGs.

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service