education notes

Education notes: Miss Fashionetta pageant awards scholarships

December 3, 2013 


■ The Beta Gamma Omega Chapter of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority held its Miss Fashionetta pageant Nov. 16 at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort, where it awarded more than $45,000 in scholarship money.

The Fashionetta is the culmination of a six-month program designed to educate young women about financial literacy, dressing for success, communicating effectively and giving back to society.

The night ended with the former Miss Fashionetta 2011 Brittany Ware crowning the 2013 Miss Fashionetta Alexis Anderson, who received $13,715 in scholarship money. First runner-up Ninti Shalom received $8,130 in scholarship money; second runner-up Shayla Boone received $8,025.

The fashionetta event is held biannually and is supported through sponsorships and donations. For more information, go to

The Partners for Youth/Toyota Scholarship Program recognized 10 outstanding students at a Nov. 18 reception at the Hilary J. Boone Center on the University of Kentucky campus. Diana Alonso of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School was awarded the $1,500 for the A.J. Newcomb Scholarship, named in honor of a Lafayette High recipient who died of heart transplant complications soon after graduating in 2001.

This year's $1,000 scholarship winners were Ivan Galang of Lafayette; Milton Meza and Jose Rosas of Bryan Station High; Maria Betancourt of Dunbar; Johnny Freeman, Ceaser Lynch and Shane Haezebrouck of The Learning Center at Linlee; Martha Valencia of Bluegrass Community and Technical College; and Alex Stromberg of Woodford County High School.

They were selected based on a series of questions concerning life activities and things that made them proud. They were also asked what advice they would offer to help younger students develop skills to promote successful behavior and cope with problems.

The scholarships can be used for college as well as a trade or technical school. To be eligible, a student must be associated with one of the 41 grass-roots programs currently supported by Partners for Youth. Toyota Motor Manufacturing Kentucky has provided funding since 1998. Partners for Youth has awarded 154 scholarships to promote higher education.

■ Science teachers from Squires Elementary and Beaumont Middle School are the first 2013-2014 recipients of INSPIRE: Lexmark's Teaching Award. Heidi Thompson-Abell, a fourth-grade teacher at Squires Elementary, and Patrick Goff, a two-time INSPIRE winner from Beaumont Middle, each received $1,000 to promote STEM education in their classrooms. The award recognizes outstanding Central Kentucky elementary, middle and high school science, technology, engineering and math instructors.

Eastern Kentucky University's Department of Recreation and Park Administration and two students in the department have been recognized at the annual Kentucky Recreation and Park Society conference.

EKU's program took home the 2013 Outstanding Program Award for a mentoring program that was developed at the Bellevue Learning Center in Richmond. The Bellevue Learning Center Mentoring Program, which began in 2007, is an eight-week program that provides a non-threatening environment where at-risk youth can play, learn, socially interact appropriately, develop meaningful friendships with EKU students, and have fun via recreational activities. Sarah Bellamy, an undergraduate RPA student at Eastern, and Brittany Toombs, a full-time student in EKU's graduate RPA program, received 2013 Student Scholarship Awards at the conference. Also at the conference, the Richmond Parks and Recreation Department was presented the Facility Award Class I for its Universal Playground at Lake Reba Recreational Complex.

■ Seven Eastern Kentucky University students have received the Patterson Scholarship, awarded to students in EKU's Department of Management, Marketing and International Business.

Honorees for the 2013-14 academic year are sophomore management major Shaun Cawley, Florence; sophomore marketing major Jordan Koeller, New London, Wis.; sophomore marketing major Austin Molen, Florence; junior business major Katie Beck, Guston; junior marketing major Chris Bunge, Lexington; junior management major Macy Huff, Mount Sterling; and senior management major Ian Hopkins, Frankfort.

Each student will be awarded $1,000 each semester for two semesters.

Eastern Kentucky University has been honored for the fourth consecutive year with a Diversity Award from Minority Access during the 14th National Role Models Conference, held in Washington, D.C., Sept. 27-29. In addition to receiving accolades for its commitment to diversity, EKU was recognized as a Premier Minority Access Associate.


Christ the King School will have its annual Sip and Shop from 6 to 9 p.m. Friday in the Christ the King gymnasium, 412 Cochran Road. Guests can shop from more than 40 vendors.

■ The Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning welcomes writers of fiction, non-fiction and poetry to submit to the third annual LGBT Writing Contest, sponsored by JustFundKY. The contest seeks new writing focused on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender.

One winner will be chosen in each of three categories (fiction, non-fiction and poetry) and each winner will receive $200. LGBT writers and writers of LGBT-themed works are welcome to submit manuscripts of fiction and non-fiction prose (up to 2,000 words per entry) or poetry (up to five poems per entry). There is a $10 fee per entry, payable to the Carnegie Center. Participants must be Kentucky residents.

Entries should include a cover sheet with writer's name, address, email address and phone number. Names should not appear on the rest of the manuscript. Entries must be postmarked (or dropped off) by 5 p.m. Dec. 20. Send or deliver entries to: LGBT Writing Contest, c/o Carnegie Center, 251 West Second Street, Lexington, Ky., 40507.

Authors Silas House and Jason Howard will serve as contest judges. Contest winners and honorable mentions will be invited to read excerpts of their work at a public reading event at The Carnegie Center at 6 p.m. Feb. 20. For more information, go to or call (859) 254-4175, Ext. 21.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service