Class 6A finals: Scott County vs. Meade County, 6 p.m.

December 7, 2013 


Scott County vs. Meade County

Kickoff: 6 p.m. (EST) Saturday

Cantrall ratings: Scott County 93.1; Meade County 84.5

Numbers game: Scott County is averaging 54.1 ppg and giving up 20.0. Meade County is averaging 36.1 and giving up 9.9.

History lesson: Scott County won a 2A title in 1975. It lost in the big-school finals to St. Xavier in 2004 and to Trinity in 2011. Meade County was 3A runner-up to Bell County in 1991.

Scott County leaders: The Cardinals’ Wing-T features three 1,000-yard rushers in Keith Guy (1,292 yards, 13 TDs), Theo Price (1,234, 22 TDs) and Kevin Claussen (1,017, 16 TDs). Clay McKee has thrown for 1,120 yards, 24 TDs. Scott Daniel has 30 catches, 453 yards, 11 TDs. Palmer Ward has kicked a state-record 99 extra points this season. Grayson Miller leads the team in tackles and has six interceptions.

Meade County leaders: The Green Wave are run-oriented, too, led by Jonah Shacklett (973 yards, 11 TDs), Nick O’Brien (789 yards, 9 TDs), Micah Kaiser (527 yards, 5 TDs) and John Wilson (586 yards, 11 TDs). Wilson has thrown for 470 yards, 4 TDs. O’Brien’s 9 catches for 198 yards, 3 TDs lead the team.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service