Smarty Jones Stakes attracts 10 3-year-olds

The Sports NetworkJanuary 17, 2014 

Hot Springs, AR ( - Oaklawn Park's stakes series for 3-year- olds gets underway Monday with the running of the one-mile Smarty Jones Stakes. The $150,000 stakes will have a field of 10 Kentucky Derby hopefuls.

The Smarty Jones is the first of three stakes leading up to the $1 million Arkansas Derby. Coming up next for 3-year-olds will be the Southwest Stakes on Feb. 17 followed by the Rebel on March 15 with the Arkansas Derby on April 12.

Last year's Smarty Jones Stakes was won by Will Take Charge who went on to win the Travers and finish second in the Breeders' Cup Classic.

Breaking from the outside post on Monday will be trainer Mark Casse's Coastline with jockey Shaun Bridgmohan. The gray colt is owned by John Oxley.

Coastline is coming off an eighth-place finish on Nov. 23 in the Delta Jackpot Stakes at Delta Downs. Sent off as the 8-5 favorite, Coastline stumbled at the start and finished 12 lengths behind the winner. The colt finished second in his first start in September at Churchill Downs and broke his maiden at Keeneland on Oct. 5.

Back at Churchill, Coastline and Bridgmohan won the Street Sense Stakes by three lengths. With two wins in four starts, the colt has earned $90,779.

Also making his first start of the year will be D'cajun Cat with jockey Ricardo Santana Jr. The pair will leave from the inside post for trainer Steve Asmussen and Whispering Oaks Farm.

D'cajun Cat won his first time out at Churchill on June 1 and followed with a fifth-place finish as the 13-10 favorite in Churchill's Bashford Manor Stakes on June 29. He came back in December with a third in the Sugar Bowl Stakes at Fair Grounds.

Here is the field for the Smarty Jones in post position order: D'cajun Cat, Ricardo Santana Jr.; Whyruawesome, Eddie Martin Jr.; Fire Starter, Robby Albarado; Son of a Preacher, M. C. Berry; A Step Ahead, Francisco Torres; Walt, Ken Tohill; Denali Rahy Ruler, Alex Birzer; Tanzanite Cat, Norberto Arroyo Jr.; Unstoppable Colby, Jon Court and Coastline, Shaun Bridgmohan.

Post-time for the race will be approximately 5:38 p.m. (ET).

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service