Fayette school students will leave schools one hour early Friday

vhoneycutt@herald-leader.comFebruary 14, 2014 

Fayette County schools will close one hour early Friday because of a coming weather system expected to produce accumulating snow, district spokeswoman Lisa Deffendall said.

The notice from the district included the following.

■ Elementary school families will be asked to contact their child's teacher with instructions about how they want their child to go home. Given the volume of people trying to make arrangements, email might be the best method of communication.

■ If no contact is initiated by the family, schools will make every effort to reach families.

■ In the event that contact is not made, students will be supervised until the last child is picked up.

■ Students in the morning preschool session, which normally dismisses mid-morning, can be picked up at school by their families or they will be brought home on the bus along with the other students from their elementary schools, in accordance with the early-dismissal schedule. There will be no afternoon preschool sessions.

■ Bus riders will arrive at their regular bus stops one hour earlier.

■ All afternoon and evening activities, including night school, are canceled.

The dismissal schedule follows:

■ 1:35 p.m. for Arlington, Ashland, Athens-Chilesburg, Booker T. Washington, Breckinridge, Cardinal Valley, Clays Mill, Deep Springs, Dixie, Garden Springs, Glendover, James Lane Allen, Julius Marks, Lansdowne, Liberty, Maxwell, Meadowthorpe, Millcreek, Picadome, Rosa Parks, Russell Cave, Sandersville, Southern Elementary, Squires, Stonewall, Tates Creek Elementary, Veterans Park, Wellington, William Wells Brown and Yates.

■ 2:15 p.m. dismissal: Cassidy, Harrison, Mary Todd and Northern.

■ 2:15 p.m. dismissal (high schools): Bryan Station High, Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Laurence Dunbar and Tates Creek High.

■ 2:45 p.m. dismissal: SCAPA at Bluegrass.

■ 2:55 p.m. dismissal (middle schools): Beaumont, Bryan Station Middle, Crawford, Edythe J. Hayes, Jessie Clark, Leestown, Lexington Traditional Magnet, Morton, Southern Middle, Tates Creek Middle and Winburn.

Other programs:

■ 1:35 p.m. dismissal: Carter G. Woodson Academy and STEAM Academy.

■ 1:45 p.m. dismissal: Opportunity Middle College.

■ 2:15 p.m. dismissal: MSTC at Dunbar & Liberal Arts Academy at Henry Clay

■ 3 p.m. dismissal: Martin Luther King Jr. Academy.

■ 3:10 p.m. dismissal: The Learning Center at Linlee and The Stables.

Valarie Honeycutt Spears: (859) 231-3409. Twitter: @vhspears.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service