Three UK women's players receive SEC honors

jsmith3@herald-leader.comMarch 4, 2014 

Kentucky guard Jennifer O'Neill put up a shot during the first half Sunday against Florida.

PHOTO BY AMY WALLOT — Herald-Leader Buy Photo

  • All-SEC


    Coach of the Year: Dawn Staley, South Carolina

    Player of the Year: Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina

    Freshman of the Year: Alaina Coates, S. Carolina

    Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Martha Alwal, Mississippi State; Jordan Jones, Texas A&M.

    Co-Sixth Players of the Year: Jennifer O'Neill, Kentucky; Alaina Coates, South Carolina.

    Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Lianna Doty, Missouri



    Tyrese Tanner Auburn

    Jaterra Bonds Florida

    Theresa Plaisance LSU

    Martha Alwal Mississippi State

    Bri Kulas Missouri

    Aleighsa Welch South Carolina

    Tiffany Mitchell South Carolina

    Meighan Simmons Tennessee

    Isabelle Harrison Tennessee

    Courtney Walker Texas A&M


    Jessica Jackson Arkansas

    Shacobia Barbee Georgia

    Jennifer O'Neill Kentucky

    DeNesha Stallworth Kentucky

    Tia Faleru Mississippi

    Valencia McFarland Mississippi

    Alaina Coates South Carolina

    Courtney Williams Texas A&M

    Jasmine Lister Vanderbilt

    Christina Foggie Vanderbilt


    Ashley Williams Alabama

    Jessica Jackson Arkansas

    Brandy Montgomery Auburn

    Ronni Williams Florida

    Linnae Harper Kentucky

    Raigyne Moncrief LSU

    Breanna Richardson Mississippi State

    Alaina Coates South Carolina

    Andraya Carter Tennessee


    Tyrese Tanner Auburn

    Hasina Muhammad Auburn

    Shacobia Barbee Georgia

    Martha Alwal Mississippi State

    Elem Ibiam South Carolina

    Tiffany Mitchell South Carolina

    Jordan Jones Texas A&M

As expected, regular-season champion South Carolina swept nearly all of the major Southeastern Conference awards on Tuesday.

The SEC's coaches voted Dawn Staley the league's coach of the year. Tiffany Mitchell was named player of the year, and Alaina Coates was named freshman of the year.

Kentucky junior guard Jennifer O'Neill was named co-Sixth Player of the Year with Coates.

No Kentucky players were voted to the first team, but O'Neill and UK senior forward DeNesha Stallworth were named second-team all conference.

UK guard Linnae Harper was named to the All-Freshman team.

Jennifer Smith: (859) 231-3241. Twitter: @jenheraldleader. Blog:

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service