education notes

Education notes: Mar. 11

March 10, 2014 


Seth Henderson, a Berea Community High School graduate and a senior political science and criminal justice major at Eastern Kentucky University, has been selected to serve a 14-week internship in the White House Office of Presidential Correspondence.

While at EKU, Henderson has served as president of Justice & Safety Student Leaders, president of the Golden Key Honor Society and vice president of Alpha Phi Sigma. He also co-hosted and helped raise money for the university's annual International Banquet.

■ Five students from the Kentucky School for the Deaf will compete at the national level in The Gallaudet's Battle of the Books competition, a middle school competition for deaf and hard of hearing students across the country sponsored by Gallaudet University in Washington, D.C. KSD was one of four schools in the nation to qualify for the national competition.

The national competition will be held May 3-5 on Gallaudet's campus. The team members are Leah Ware (Versailles), Parrie Kay Reed (Danville), Payne Yance (Danville), Keaura Davis (Louisville) and Jenna Pratt (Campbellsville). The team is coached by Ann Arnold and Linsdsey Nausbaum.

KSD is at 303 South Second Street in Danville and serves K-12 students who are deaf or hard of hearing from across the state.

■ The Fund for Transforming Education in Kentucky recently recognized scores of educators at its Elevating and Celebrating Effective Teaching and Teachers conference in Lexington, including 11 from Fayette County Public Schools. The event gave them opportunities to share and learn from colleagues, to connected and to gain resources and leave with a sense of appreciation for the work they do.

The FCPS participants included Mickey Campbell (Paul Laurence Dunbar High), Michelle Cason (Winburn Middle), Emily Coleman (Dunbar), Scott Diamond (TLC at Linlee), Scot Gill (Tates Creek High), Brison Harvey (Lafayette High), Sherri McPherson (Lafayette), Robin Reid (Lafayette), Liz Tronoski ("It's About Kids" Support Services), Melanie Trowel (Carter G. Woodson Academy) and Ali Wright (Lafayette).

The idea of ECET2 was born out of a desire of The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to provide a forum for exceptional teachers to learn from one another and celebrate the teaching profession.

The seventh- and eighth-grade combined orchestra from Edythe J. Hayes Middle School performed at the 2014 National Orchestra Festival in Louisville March 6. The school is one of three middle school orchestras in the United States to perform, according to Hayes Director Sara Francis. (The others are from Nevada and Texas.)

The students had an adjudicated performance in the Kentucky Center for the Arts with master teachers/conductors from around the country, as well as a hands-on clinic with a master conductor. The Hayes group, which includes 67 students, was featured March 6 and attended educational workshops during the afternoon.

■ Wilmore Elementary fourth-grade student Lyla Lamb created the winning entry for this year's Lexington Legends' Hit the Books bookmark design contest. She received a Legends prize pack, including Legends merchandise, a framed Hit the Books poster featuring her artwork and membership in the 2014 Little Legends Kids Club. She also will be invited to throw a ceremonial first pitch at a designated Legends game for her school. Bookmarks featuring her artwork will be distributed to students at every school that participates in the Hit the Books program.

Earning runner-up honors were Leah Olmstead, a fifth-grade student at Wilmore Elementary; Kevin Spencer, a fifth-grade student at Menifee County Elementary; and Samuel Jung, a third-grade student at Eastern Elementary in Scott County. Runners-up received a framed poster and Legends merchandise.

Fayette County Public Schools' annual FAME Awards program gives graduating seniors a chance to publicly thank an exceptional teacher, coach, mentor or other role model who has made a difference in their lives. Seventy-seven seniors submitted essays this year, and one winner was chosen from each high school. Essays were judged by a panel at "It's About Kids" Support Services. The winners read their pieces aloud at the district-wide event on Feb. 22, and the rest of the students introduced their nominees with excerpts.

The winners were:

▪ Bryan Station High School: student Casey Gill, honoring FAME Award winner Adam Weger

▪ Henry Clay High School: Simone Stigal, honoring Laura Zimmerman

▪ Lafayette High School: Will Lovan, honoring Karen Stayton

▪ Paul Laurence Dunbar High School: Cameron Young, honoring Vanessa Justice

▪ Tates Creek High School: Ryan Betlach, honoring Bud Slone

Teresa Elliott of Beaumont Middle School has been selected for School Band and Orchestra Magazine's 16th annual list of "50 Directors Who Make A Difference." The honorees — one from each state — were nominated by readers and selected by the editorial staff.

Elliott has taught band in the public schools of Ohio, Indiana and Kentucky for 35 years and has served the students at Beaumont since 2002. She is also on staff with the Kentucky Ambassadors of Music summer European tours and serves as an active adjudicator and clinician throughout the United States. Her past recognitions include the Kentucky Music Educators Association's Middle School Teacher of the Year, the Outstanding Band Master of Kentucky, a finalist for the Ashland Teacher of the Year, and an Apple Award recipient, also from Ashland.

Lafayette High School students fared well in Kentucky's inaugural Japanese Speech Contest. Kailiman Ajimu, a junior, was tops in the advanced plus division with "My Best Friend," while classmate Zane Barnett placed third in the advanced group with "What I Want for My Trip to Japan."

The March 1 contest, which Lafayette hosted, was open to all Japanese language learners in Kentucky who were not heritage speakers. Motohiko Kato, the consul-general of Japan in Nashville, headlined the panel of judges. Along with Lafayette, the three dozen participants hailed from Scott County High School, Atherton High School and Eastern High School (both in Louisville) and the University of Kentucky, Northern Kentucky University, Centre College and Eastern Kentucky University.


The Kentucky Society of Professional Engineers is offering a $2,500, one-time scholarship to one college student. For information, including eligibility requirements, go to The application deadline is April 1.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service