All of UK's 2014 signees on Jordan Brand roster

broberts82@herald-leader.comMarch 11, 2014 

John Calipari's latest recruiting class will be well represented on the post-season all-star circuit.

All four of UK's signees for the Class of 2014 were selected Monday to play in next month's Jordan Brand Classic. The four players were earlier chosen to participate in the McDonald's All-American Game.

Karl Towns Jr. and Trey Lyles will represent the East team at the Jordan Classic, and Devin Booker and Tyler Ulis will team up for the West squad.

Louisville signee Shaqquan Aaron and Louisville native D'Angelo Russell (an Ohio State signee) were also among the 26 players chosen for the event. They will both join Booker and Ulis on the West team.

This year's Jordan Brand Classic will be played April 18 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. The game is typically televised live on ESPN or ESPN2.

The Derby Festival Classic will also be played April 18, in Louisville. High school players are only permitted to participate in two post-season all-star events, so the recruits who were named to both the McDonald's All-American Game and Jordan Brand Classic will not be able to play in the Derby Classic.

That means none of UK's current signees will be in the Louisville event. Aaron will be in Brooklyn at the Jordan Classic, but Louisville's other five commitments for the class of 2014 will be eligible for the Derby event, including Ballard point guard Quentin Snider.

The players who were chosen for the McDonald's game but did not make the Jordan Classic roster are UCLA signees Kevon Looney and Thomas Welsh and Maryland signee Romelo Trimble.

Aaron, L.J. Peak (Georgetown), Kameron Chatman (Michigan), Daniel Hamilton (UConn) and Chris McCullough (Syracuse) were chosen for the Jordan Classic but not the McDonald's game.


East team: Grayson Allen (Duke), Joel Berry (North Carolina), James Blackmon Jr. (Indiana), Justin Jackson (North Carolina), Tyus Jones (Duke), Trey Lyles (Kentucky), Jahlil Okafor (Duke), Kelly Oubre (Kansas), L.J. Peak (Georgetown), Karl Towns Jr. (Kentucky), Reid Travis (Stanford), Rashad Vaughn (UNLV), Isaiah Whitehead (Seton Hall).

West team: Shaqquan Aaron (Louisville), Cliff Alexander (Kansas), Devin Booker (Kentucky), Kameron Chatman (Michigan), Daniel Hamilton (UConn), Stanley Johnson (Arizona), Chris McCullough (Syracuse), Emmanuel Mudiay (Southern Methodist), Theo Pinson (North Carolina), D'Angelo Russell (Ohio State), Myles Turner (Uncommitted), Tyler Ulis (Kentucky), Justise Winslow (Duke).

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service