CovCath's Ruthsatz takes home two awards

March 23, 2014 

Nick Ruthsatz of Covington Catholic won the Herald-Leader's Sweet Sixteen MVP award. The 5-foot-10 senior had 25 points, six rebounds, five assists and three steals in the championship game victory over Scott County.

Ruthsatz, who totaled 91 points and 23 assists for the week, also won the Larry Conley Ultimate Teammate Award given by the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches.

The all-tournament team was headed by Ruthsatz and CovCath teammates Cole VonHandorf and Mark Schult, and also included Trent Gilbert, Hines Jones and Tony Martini of Scott County; Joseph Ayers and Tucker Sine of Bowling Green; Craig Owens and Tre' Ivory of Trinity; Eljay Cowherd of Bardstown; Kam Chumbler of McCracken County; Shane Hall of Johnson Central, and Tra Edwards of Hopkinsville.

Matt Murray of Scott County won the Kentucky National Guard's Best and Brightest Leadership Award.

Keegan Sammons of Knott Central won the Ted Sanford Award and its $1,000 scholarship.

Ben Heppler of Covington Catholic won the Forcht Bank Uncommon Excellence Award. Heppler also won a $1,000 scholarship from Bob Roberts' Insurance. Daniel Bertram of Wayne County won a $1,000 scholarship from Rawlings.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service