KHSAA proposes new district alignment for football

mfields@herald-leader.comApril 15, 2014 


    District 1: Crittenden County, Fulton City, Fulton County, Russellville

    District 2: Berea, Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Caverna, Fort Knox

    District 3: Eminence, Frankfort, Lou. Holy Cross, Kentucky Country Day

    District 4: Beechwood, Bellevue, Dayton, Ludlow

    District 5: Bishop Brossart, Bracken County, Nicholas County, Paris

    District 6: Fairview, Paintsville, Raceland

    District 7: Harlan, Lynn Camp, Pineville, Williamsburg

    District 8: Hazard, Jenkins, Phelps, Pikeville, South Floyd

    ■ The fifth-place team from District 8 will be the fourth-place team in District 6 for playoff brackets; The fifth-place team from District 2 will not advance to playoffs

    CLASS 2A

    District 1: Ballard Memorial, Mayfield, Murray, Webster County

    District 2: Butler County, Hancock County, McLean County, Owensboro Catholic, Todd Central

    District 3: Clinton County, Glasgow, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County

    District 4: Lou. Christiane, DeSales, Shawnee, Washington County

    District 5: Carroll County, Gallatin County, Owen County, Trimble County, Walton-Verona

    District 6: Bath County, Cov. Holy Cross , Lloyd, Newport, Newport Central Catholic, West Carter

    District 7: Danville, Lexington Christian, Middlesboro, Somerset

    District 8: Allen Central, Betsy Layne, East Ridge, Leslie County, Prestonsburg, Shelby Valley

    CLASS 3A

    District 1: Caldwell County, Fort Campbell, Paducah Tilghman, Trigg County, Union County

    District 2: Adair County, Edmonson County, Elizabethtown, Hart County, LaRue County

    District 3: Bardstown, Central, Moore, Thomas Nelson, Waggener

    District 4: Boyle County, Garrard County, Henry County, Lexington Catholic, Western Hills

    District 5: Fleming County, Lewis County, Pendleton County, Russell

    District 6: Belfry, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Pike Central, Sheldon Clark

    District 7: Breathitt County, Estill County, Knott Central, Morgan County, Powell County

    District 8: Bell County, Casey County, Corbin, Jackson County, McCreary Central

    CLASS 4A

    District 1: Calloway County, Hopkins Central, Hopkinsville, Logan County, Madisonville

    District 2: Allen County-Scottsville, Franklin-Simpson, South Warren, Warren Central, Warren East

    District 3: Breckinridge County, John Hardin, Valley, Western

    District 4: Collins, Franklin County, North Oldham, Spencer County

    District 5: East Jessamine, Marion County, Mercer County, Taylor County, West Jessamine

    District 6: Clay County, Knox Central, Rockcastle County, Russell County, Wayne County

    District 7: Bourbon County, Harrison County, Holmes, Mason County, Scott

    District 8: Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, East Carter, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County

    CLASS 5A

    District 1: Apollo, Christian County, Graves County, Marshall County, Owensboro

    District 2: Barren County, Bowling Green, Grayson County, Greenwood

    District 3: Bullitt Central, Bullitt East, Nelson County, North Bullitt, Oldham County, South Oldham

    District 4: Atherton, Doss, Fairdale, Fern Creek, Iroquois, Southern

    District 5: Covington Catholic, Dixie Heights, Grant County, Highlands

    District 6: Anderson County, Madison Southern, Montgomery County, Shelby County, Woodford County

    District 7: Lincoln County, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern, Whitley County

    District 8: Harlan County, Letcher County Central, North Laurel, Perry County Central

    CLASS 6A

    District 1: Daviess County, Henderson County, McCracken County, Muhlenberg County, Ohio County

    District 2: Central Hardin, Meade County, North Hardin

    District 3: Butler, DuPont Manual, Male, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier

    District 4: Ballard, Eastern, Jeffersontown, Seneca, Trinity

    District 5: Conner, Cooper, Ryle

    District 6: Boone County, Campbell County, Simon Kenton

    District 7: Bryan Station, Henry Clay, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Scott County

    District 8: Clark County, Lafayette, Madison Central, Tates Creek

    ■ The fifth-place team from District 1 is the fourth-place team in District 2 for playoff brackets.

    ■ The fifth-place team from 3 would be the fourth-place team in 5 for playoffs in odd-numbered years

    ■ The fifth-place team from 3 would be the fourth-place team in 6 for playoffs in even-numbered years.

    ■ The fifth-place team from 4 would be the fourth-place team in 6 for playoffs in odd-numbered years

    ■ The fifth-place team from 4 would be the fourth-place team in 5 for playoffs in even-numbered years.

    ■ Playoff pairings would rotate between 3, 4, 5 and 6 for the first three years of the four-year alignment period. Year 1 would have 3 and 4 paired, 5 and 6 paired. Year 2 would have 3 and 5 paired, 4 and 6 paired. Year 3 would have 3 and 6 paired, 4 and 5 paired. The board will determine in May 2014 the length of time for the rotation of pairings beyond the third year.

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association on Tuesday released its proposed football alignment for the 2015-18 seasons.

It includes several schools voluntarily competing in a higher classification than their enrollment would allow. Traditional powers Covington Catholic and Highlands, for example, will move from Class 4A to 5A. Conner and Cooper will go from 5A to 6A.

Several schools will move down a class, including East Jessamine and West Jessamine, who will drop from 5A to 4A.

Because of decreased enrollment, Boyle County and Lexington Catholic, former 4A district rivals, will be 3A district rivals.

The new alignment would also separate 6A powers St. Xavier and Trinity, which have been in the same district since 2011. Realignment has St. X in a district with Butler, Manual, Male and Pleasure Ridge Park. Trinity will be in a district with Ballard, Eastern, Jeffersontown and Seneca.

Final approval of the alignment by the KHSAA Board of Control is expected to come in May.

In other action Tuesday, the Board of Control approved a motion to add field hockey as a team sport beginning with the 2014-15 school year.

Mike Fields: (859) 231-3337. Twitter: @MikeFieldsNotes. Blog:

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service