WKYT, WLEX win regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

April 25, 2014 

Lexington television stations WLEX and WKYT have won prestigious regional Edward R. Murrow Awards.

WLEX anchor Nancy Cox and chief photojournalist Brian Gilbert were awarded the feature reporting prize for their work on "In the Eye of the Beholder." The piece focused on Sienna Montgomery, a Campbellsville teenager born with a rare, deforming genetic disorder who is challenging how society defines beauty.

WKYT reporter Lee K. Howard and news photographer John C. Wilson won the best sports reporting award for a piece called "Kickin' It 4 Kelly," about Kelly Melton, a Central Kentucky boy who is fighting leukemia and was befriended by members of the University of Kentucky's sports teams.

Wilson also won the award for use of sound/video.

All the Lexington stations' wins were in the small-market television division. Kentucky news outlets compete in a region that includes North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and West Virginia.

The Murrow awards are overseen by the Radio Television Digital News Association. Regional winners advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May.

WLEX said in a news release announcing the station's win that Cox, who underwent major back surgery in March, hopes to return to work in late May.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service