Redistricting committee for Fayette schools approved with 2 additional members

vhoneycutt@herald-leader.comApril 29, 2014 

Some members of the proposed redistricting committee includes (top left, clockwise): Austin Simms, Daryl Love, Lester Diaz, Steven Riley, Amanda Ferguson and Alan Stein.

Two people were added to the committee that will help redraw Fayette County school attendance zones when its membership was approved by the school board at its meeting Monday night.

David O'Neill, county property valuation administrator, and James Brown, a Bryan Station High School parent, bring the committee's membership to 27. They include school board members, business leaders, Equity Council members, other parents, Realtors, home builders, principals and a city planning official.

The committee is set to convene for the first time at a public meeting at 3 p.m. Tuesday in the Buckner Room of the Lexington Herald-Leader, 100 Midland Avenue. Its work is expected to take for at least seven months to complete.

After Monday's school board meeting, Superintendent Tom Shelton said he would present a plan to cut $20 million from the district's 2014-15 budget during a special board meeting at 11:30 a.m. Tuesday.

Valarie Honeycutt Spears: (859) 231-3409. Twitter: @vhspears

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service