University of Kentucky announces 2014 Provost's Outstanding Teaching Awards winners

May 1, 2014 

University of Kentucky Provost Christine Riordan honored the 2014 winners of the Provost's Outstanding Teaching Awards at a ceremony Thursday.

The 2014 faculty awards went to:

Philip R. Harling, Department of History; Pearl James, Department of English; and Leon Sachs, Department of Modern and Classical Languages.

The awards for lecturers and clinical faculty went to: Brian W. Adkins, Department of Emergency Medicine; Andrea M. Friedrich, Department of Psychology; and Tammy J. Stephenson, Department of Dietetics and Human Nutrition.

The awards for teaching assistants went to: Ashleigh M. Hardin, Department of English; Nathan A. Shank, Department of English; and E. Ashley Sorrell, Department of History.

Winners receive cash prizes of $5,000 for faculty, $3,000 for lecturer and clinical faculty, and $1,000 for teaching assistants.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service