Business awards: Week of May 5

May 5, 2014 

Ben Chandler, former U.S. Congressman and an attorney with Morgan & Pottinger, has been invited to join the University of Kentucky College of Law Hall of Fame, the highest honor presented jointly by the college and the UK Law Alumni Association. Chandler and the other 2014 inductees will be honored in June at an alumni reception in conjunction with the Kentucky Bar Association annual convention. A 1986 graduate of the UK College of Law, Chandler joined M&P after a 21-year career in politics. He served in the U.S. House of Representatives for Kentucky's sixth congressional district from February 2004 through January 2013. Prior to his work as a congressman, Chandler was the Attorney General of Kentucky (1996-2004) and the Kentucky Auditor of Public Accounts (1992-1996). Chandler is also executive director of the Kentucky Humanities Council.

An eighth generation Woodford County native, Chandler lives on land that has been in his family since 1784. He graduated with distinction from the University of Kentucky with a Bachelor of Arts degree in history and a Juris Doctor from the UK College of Law. Chandler opened a private law practice before beginning his career in politics.

M&P's John McGarvey and Chandler's grandfather, A.B. "Happy" Chandler, are also members of the UK College of Law Hall of Fame.

Mary Lynn Collins, a library trustee from Frankfort, has been named the winner of the 2014 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Award. The award, which is given to a non-librarian participating in National Library Legislative Day, covers hotel fees in addition to a $300 stipend to reduce the cost of attending the event.

During this year's National Library Legislative Day, to be held May 5-6, hundreds of librarians and library supporters from across the country will gather in the nation's capital to meet with members of Congress to discuss key library issues. As a champion for libraries, Collins incorporates her first-hand knowledge of the Kentucky legislature into her advocacy strategies. Before Collins became a founding member and current president of the Friends of Kentucky Libraries, she served for nearly 30 years on the staff of the Kentucky legislature as a legislative analyst.

■ The Lexington Chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners has honored Megan Smith, founder/publisher/editor of Cake&Whiskey magazine, as the 2014 Winners' Circle Award recipient. In addition to the Winner's Circle Award, there were five other women honored with awards for Woman Business Owner of the Year, Rising Star Award, Tribute Award, Legacy Award and NAWBO Member of the Year for 2014. The Woman Business Owner of the Year is Julie Wilson, founder of STORY Magazine. The Rising Star Award went to Sarah Burton of Simply Love Studio. The Tribute Award went to Neal Vaughan with Chrysalis House. The Legacy Award went to Martha Layne Collins, former Kentucky governor. The Member of the Year is Sheila Taluskie, founder of God's Closet & The Purple Lunchbox.

Jeffrey C. Todd, a financial adviser and field director with Northwestern Mutual, has qualified for the most elite level of membership in the Million Dollar Roundtable, the Top of the Table. MDRT is an international, independent association of more than 35,000 leading life insurance producers worldwide. Members of the Top of the Table represent less than 5 percent of the entire MDRT membership.

Todd has been associated with Northwestern Mutual since 1991 and has earned the designation of Chartered Life Underwriter and Chartered Financial Consultant from The American College of Financial Services.

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service