Voters' guide: Council candidates on the issues

May 19, 2014 

Many see it as an opportunity to make Lexington a better city and solve some of its most pressing problems.

Members of the Urban County Council sit in the driver's seat, steering policy for issues such as homelessness, affordable housing, public safety and job development.

Five of the 12 council district seats will have a primary race Tuesday. The top two vote-getters in each race will face off in the Nov. 4 general election.

More than 20 candidates filed in January to run for Urban County Council. Three of those candidates — Jon Bush, Ismael Shalash and Owen J. Sutton — have dropped out, but their names will appear on the ballot Tuesday.

Four incumbent council members will be returning next year because they have no opponents: Chris Ford in the 1st District, Bill Farmer Jr. in the 5th District, Peggy Henson in the 11th District and Ed Lane in District 12.

Diane Lawless, who represents the 3rd District; George Myers, who represents the 8th District; and Kevin Stinnett, who represents the 6th District, opted not to seek additional terms in their respective districts.

But Stinnett is running for an at-large seat on the council, and Myers is seeking the Republican nomination in the 79th House District.

The candidates have a variety of experiences: There are legal experts and accountants, educators, retirees and entrepreneurs.

See where each stands on issues facing the city, The issues: Urban County Council (PDF)

To prepare for Tuesday's primary election, find out where the candidates for Kentucky's U.S. Senate seat; the 6th Congressional District; state House; and Lexington mayor and council stand on state, regional and local issues. Voters' Guide

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service