Lexington USBC presents awards, elects officers

Special to the Herald-LeaderMay 25, 2014 

The Greater Lexington USBC held its annual meeting on May 17 at the Ramada Inn on North Broadway. The association presented its annual awards and elected officers and directors.

Melinda Craig won the women's high average award for the 18th time in the last 19 years. She posted a 230 average in the 600 Club League at Collins Bowling Centers-Eastland.

The men's high average went to Matt Fitch who posted a 234 in the Friday Night Fun League, also at Eastland.

The high senior averages were by Becky Flora (girls, 195) and Steve Delles (boys, 204).

The top youth average for girls went to Chelsey Stephens (208). On the boys' side, there was a three-way tie between Jacob Horrell, Shane Dunsing and Jacob Yazell with 220.

The men's high series award went to Phillip Kraft for his 846 rolled in the annual tournament. The women's high series was rolled by Melinda Craig with a 793.

The Mabel Perkins Sportsmanship award was presented to Bettye Simpson from the Helen Gilkerson Southern Rebels League at Southland.

The Julie Whitaker Memorial Award was presented to Louise Black for her service to the sport, including her work on the Greater Lexington USBC board and with special needs children.

Black was a close friend of Whitaker's and aided her during her long bout with cancer.

Helen Gilkerson was re-elected as president to a two-year term. Joann Campbell earned another two-year term as second vice president.

Louise Black, Celia Cooper, Bill Hohensee, Joann Herndon, Barbara Underwood, Randy Cannon and Jean Southern were elected to two-year terms as directors. Scott Vogt was elected to that position for a one-year term.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service