Campbell, Haddix Jr. share lead after 1st round of State Am

June 17, 2014 

Tom Campbell

Tom Campbell can play golf as well as coach it.

Campbell, men's golf coach at Centre College, shot a 5-under par 67 for a share of the first-round lead in the 103rd Kentucky State Amateur championship at Cherry Blossom Golf & Country Club on Tuesday.

Denver Haddix Jr. of Lexington also shot a 67.

Campbell and Haddix are one shot ahead of five players who opened with 68s, including recent high school graduates Chandler Morgan (Tates Creek) and Billy Ray Sargent (Scott County).

Three former college golfers also shot 68s: Chris Griffin (Murray State), Trey Shirley, (Campbellsville), and Eric Straub (Missouri State).

Chris Gilles of Lexington is among those at 69. Matthew Mahle, a former Lexington Catholic golfer now at the College of Charleston, shot a 70 and is tied for 11th.

Buddy Bryant of Lexington, State Am titlist in 1996 and '98, had a first-round 71, as did two-time state high school champ Fred Allen Meyer of Nicholasville.

The State Am is a 54-hole competition that runs through Thursday.

Kentucky State Amateur first-round scores

At Cherry Blossom Golf & Country Club, Georgetown

Tom Campbell, Danville 67-5

Denver Haddix Jr., Lexington 67-5

Eric Straub, Paducah 68-4

Chris Griffin, Paducah 68-4

Chandler Morgan, Lexington 68-4

Billy Tom Sargent, Georgetown 68-4

Trey Shirley, Bowling Green 68-4

Brad Faulkner, Louisville 69-3

Chris Gilles, Lexington 69-3

Chase Landrum, Glasgow 69-3

Matthew Mahle, Lexington 70-2

Matt Gann, Pineville 71-1

Joey Mayo, Paducah 71-1

Grant Blevins, Danville 71-1

Joseph Deraney, Lexington 71-1

Buddy Bryant, Lexington 71-1

Andy Roberts, Owensboro 71-1

Clay Hinton, Elizabethtown 71-1

Josh Matney, Center 71-1

Fred Allen Meyer, Nicholasville 71-1

Ashton Van Horne, Georgetown 71-1

Travis Rose, Nicholasville 71-1

Matthew Zakutney, Paducah 71-1

72—Daniel Deluca, Kevin Lawson, Nick McCarthy, Danny White, Will Sallee, Jason Cox, Ross Perry, Drew Allenspach

73—Joshua Griffin, Tanner Walton, Andrew Pleasant, Grant Price, Ben Sullivan, James Inman, Patrick Hibbs, Preston French, Tyler Sharpe, TJ Ferry, Hunter York, Chris Meuth, Rob Crockett III, Doug Hudson, Joshua Rhodes, Jonathan Scalf, Andrew Gladden, David Brown, Cameron Beal, Jearmy Wilson

74—Davis Boland, William Branham, Stephen Stallings Jr., Brock Simmons, Jason Witten, Brandon Collier, Benjamin Hinson, Cale Barr, Nicholas Thompson, Tony Brown, Dakota Jarman, Chris Caldwell, Presley Meyer, Jonathon Ice, Christopher Stout, Mack Van Lenten, Nick Wilkins, Ross Sharp, Todd Altman, Mike Brumfield

75—Brad Wilder, Taylor Riggs, Evan Shelley, DJ Vogt, Jordan Hagan, Kevin Horseman, Bobby Huff, Patrick Schimer, Eric Sallie, Joseph Aguirre, Devon Ballamy, Dylan Henderson, Brett Metzger, Matt Epperson, Aaron Cochran, Charlie Cornette, Ryan Daniels

76—Justin Boyd, Brandon Beckham, Austin Knight, Gary Backlund, Adam Warren, Jack Berger, Will McKenzie, Jared Gosser, Ryan Gillum, Duncan McCormick, Tyler Barton, Eric Davis

77—Cole Swezey, Steven Zehr, Nathan Hincks, Eric Geiger, Tyler O'Daniel, Lance Lucas, Casey Castle, Brad Newman, Benjamin Banks, Jonathon Grabara, Karsten Clements, Tom Scheuerman, Hunter Cloud

78—Ben Davis, Jarred Patrick, Austin Beck, Jacob Jackson, Davis Sykes, Scott Pottinger, Keith Thompson, Jackson Frame

79—Tim Lastivka, Chris Doub, Preston McClung, Riley Grant, Cody Walker, Michael Peters, Daniel Harper, Jared Brown, Todd McDaniel

80—Kyle Jury, Jeremy Curtis, RJ foltz, Travis Timberlake, Chris Butler, Christian Tooley, Erik Edwards, Daniel C. Haas, Paxton Duff, Joshua Gregorich

81—Matthew Bloom, Mark Wilson, Jimmy Key Clements

82—David Farrell, Will Bishop, Grant Hummel, Matt Bowlin

84—Chris Burke, Evans SEagraves, Cole Manion, Brent Clark

85—Holden Berry, Gray Gupton

91—Connor Coombs

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service