Fairness Awards presented to gay-equality advocates

June 20, 2014 


PABLO ALCALA — Lexington Herald-Leader Buy Photo

Lexington Fairness presented its seventh annual Fairness Awards on Friday night at the Grand Reserve events space. The organization honored six community leaders for their commitment to advancing lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender equality and fairness.

Recipients are: state Attorney General Jack Conway, Ernesto Scorsone Political Leadership Award; AIDS activist Leslie Beatty, Ally for Fairness Award; philanthropist and businessman Brandl Skirvin, and former Eastern Kentucky University professor Doug Burnham and his sister, Belinda Tarpley-Sottung, Jonathan Barker Fairness Leadership Award; and artist Bob Morgan, Jennifer Crossen Out for Fairness Award.

Recipients are chosen from nominations submitted by the public and selected by a committee of volunteer leaders from LGBT community organizations.

The Fairness Awards came a week before the Lexington Pride Festival, which will be June 28 in downtown Lexington.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service