education notes

Education notes: June 24

June 23, 2014 


Jessie Zhu, a senior at Henry Clay High School, has been awarded the P.E.O. STAR Scholarship for the 2014-15 academic year. The scholarship was presented recently at the Henry Clay awards ceremony by Peggy Falace. Jessie is the daughter of Hong Zhu and Hong Chen and was recommended for this scholarship by Chapter J of Lexington. She plans to attend the University of Kentucky to study health sciences and music.

The STAR Scholarship is a $2,500 award to graduating high school women based on excellence in leadership, extracurricular activities, community service, academics and potential for future success.

■ During the 2014 state FFA convention, a group from Locust Trace AgriScience Farm was deemed a gold emblem chapter, which is the highest possible rating. This was a first for Locust Trace and its students, who participated in the June 10-12 conference at Lexington Center.

Coleman Stivers, a 2014 graduate of Lafayette High School, won the job interview contest and a proficiency award in vegetable production. He will advance to the national competition in those areas.

In addition, Locust Trace's Agriculture Issues team was statewide runner-up with strong efforts from Coleman and Bryan Station High School's Indiah Kombo and Caitlin Fint.

Thirteen Berea College students join more than 1,100 American undergraduate students from 358 colleges and universities across the country as recipients of the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

Leanna Luney, Lindsay Roe, Alexandria Gaston, Courtney Mollett, Sarah Carr, Terrin Vann, Candace Reed, Victoria Wheeler, Zachary Thomas, Tevin Webster, Malcolm Johnson, Mason Darling and Anna Harrod are this year's Berea students receiving the scholarship to study abroad. This number represents the most of any private school in the country and is in the top 10 for all schools. Berea's Gilman Scholars received a combined $34,000 this summer. Each student can be awarded up to $3,500 to apply toward a study-abroad program. The full list of students who have been selected to receive Gilman Scholarships, including students' home states, university and country of study, is available at

■ The Kentucky Association of Professional Educators recently awarded eight scholarships to teachers and student teachers.

Student teacher recipients are: Amber Livingood, Dixie Elementary Magnet, Fayette County; and Adam Barnett, Model Laboratory School, Middle School, Madison County.

Continuing professional development winners are: Lauren Ellis, special education teacher and graduate student at the University of the Cumberlands, teaches at Fairview Independent High School, Boyd County; Melanie Mills, a full-time graduate student in the master of arts-education, library media at Murray State University, teaches at Lone Jack School Center, Bell County; Deborah Kiser, working on national board recertification in library media, is an English teacher-department chair, at Shelby Valley High School, Pike County; Kate Johnson, pursuing her Ph.D. in the STEM strand of interdisciplinary educational sciences at the University of Kentucky, is a math teacher at Henry Clay High School, Fayette County.

Star student/teacher mentor recipients are: Ben Swanson and Linda Dewees and Joshua Day and Catherine Stephens, The Liberal Arts Academy, Henry Clay High School, Fayette County.

KAPE is an independent educators' organization formed in 1982 to provide educators statewide with a choice.

■ Get Educated, a consumer resource for students interested in online education, has identified Eastern Kentucky University's online master's degree in Adult, Juvenile & Community Corrections Leadership as a best buy for those seeking a high-quality, affordable online graduate degree. The EKU Online degree program ranked No. 13 nationwide. Best-buy degree programs offer a high-quality master's degree at a cost below the national average. For more information about the EKU Online Adult, Juvenile & Community Corrections Leadership degree, visit

■ Sixteen Central Kentucky students were inducted into Mu Chapter of Lambda Sigma Honor Society at Eastern Kentucky University during the spring semester. They include: Brittany Adkins and Casey Higgins, both of Georgetown; Alexandra Carpenter, Faida Hussein and Samantha Pigg, all of Lexington; Kaitlin Eckman, Brianna White and Jigisha Patel, all of Richmond; Brittany Ellis, Morgan Hanna, Brittany Mello and Angela Wickman, all of Frankfort; Ciara May, Danville; and Catherine Hurst, Clay City. Lambda Sigma is a national organization that recognizes first-year students for their scholarship, leadership potential and service.


■ Eastern Kentucky University has named Jonathan Gore, associate professor of psychology, as undergraduate research coordinator. Since joining the EKU faculty in 2005, he has published more than 35 articles and book chapters on goal motivation, self-concept and culture, as well as topics developed over the years with his students.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service