Fayette CountyFayette County

Fayette County notes: July 1

Lexington Herald-LeaderJune 30, 2014 

Community Actions seeks nominations of those who fight poverty

Community Action Council is accepting nominations for an outstanding business or organization and a person who have contributed to the prevention, reduction and elimination of poverty in Lexington-Fayette, Bourbon, Harrison and/or Nicholas counties.

One business or organization will receive the Dr. Abby Marlatt Community Partner Award in recognition of its commitment to creating and maintaining a fair, just, and livable community for everyone. The Jack E. Burch Spirit of Community Action Award is given to a person whose commitment to combating poverty evokes the spirit of the Council's longtime executive director who retired in 2013.

To nominate an individual, business or organization visit Commaction.org and click the 2014 Jack E. Burch and Dr. Abby Marlatt Awards banner at the top of the page. All nominations must be received by 5 p.m. Aug. 8. The winners will be announced Sept. 27 at the Council's LexEndPoverty fundraiser at the Lyric Theatre & Cultural Arts Center.


Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service