Youth leaders of the year announced

July 7, 2014 

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School junior, Sahil Nair, and Shelby County High School junior, Anna Claire Schaefer, have been named 2014 Youth Leaders of the Year. They each received a $500 scholarship plus a free trip, sponsored by Holifield Photography, to attend the National Council on Youth Leadership Conference at Washington University in St. Louis.

Nair, the son of Sunil and Sonia Nair, was named Lexington's 2014 Youth Leader of the Year. He has been president of Future Business Leaders of America; associate director of Prichard Committee Student Voice, chairman of Executive Board of Spanish Honor Society; vice president of Student Y-Club; co-founder and co-captain of Science Olympiad; Chief Justice of Kentucky Youth Assembly and meeting planner for Mayor's Youth Council.

Schaefer, the daughter of Kurt and Alice Schaefer, was named 2014 Central Kentucky Youth Leader of the Year. She has been president of Diversity Club; vice president of sophomore class; founder of Miss Sensational Pageant; a member of Beta Club; a member of National Honor Society; a member of Fellowship of Christian Athletes; a varsity cheerleader; a member of the varsity dance team and varsity track and field and a volunteer at Jewish Hospital in Shelbyville.

Four more students were also named winners of the trip to attend the National Council on Youth Leadership Conference: Wylie Caudill, Harrison County; Tyler Price, Madison Southern; Lauren Harper, Lexington Catholic, and Nicole Fielder, West Jessamine. They will join other Youth Salute leaders from across the nation at the four-day event Oct. 18-21 and will compete for national awards. Individual school winners from among 762 outstanding high school juniors from 45 Central Kentucky high schools were recognized at the Youth Salute awards ceremony.

The top school winners are: Anderson County, Kristen Taylor Dile; Bath County, Brandon Bailey; Berea Community, Huaiyu Chen; Blue Grass Baptist, Ashley Allison Hayes; Bourbon County, Jordan Turley; Boyle County, Raygan Kilby; Bryan Station, Jordan King; Burgin Independent, Danielle Cottrell; Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg, Nathaniel Ward; Danville, William Matthew Wagner; Danville Christian Academy, Lauren Sheperson; East Jessamine, Luke David Prince; Estill County, Kennedy Flynn; Frankfort, Moriah Bellamy; Franklin County, Greta Lowe; George Rogers Clark, Rachel Sames; Harrison County, Wylie Caudill; Henry Clay, Anna McDonald; home school, Seth Padgett; Lafayette, Taylor Bagley; Lexington Catholic, Lauren Harper; Lexington Christian Academy, Gabrielle Townsend; Lincoln County, Joshua Mark Wilson; Madison Central, Ella Kincaid Martin; Madison Southern, James Tyler Price; Menifee County, Taylor McGuire; Mercer County, Hannah Ingram; Model Lab, Cameron Sidor; Montessori High School, Emma Pederson; Montgomery County, Haley Warner; Nicholas County, Justus Warner; Owen County, Veronica Chisholm; Paris, Stephanie Baker; Paul Laurence Dunbar, Sahil Nair; Powell County, Brook Billings; Robertson County, Maria Delgado; Rockcastle County, William Clay Greene; Scott County, Katherine Mann; Shelby County, Anna Claire Schaefer; Somerset, Jordyn Bray; Tates Creek, Tapas Parikh; Trinity Christian Academy, Lauren Alexandra Otte; West Jessamine, Nicole Fielder; Western Hills, Morgan Gay; and Woodford County, Katelyn Spencer.

Asbury University awarded $4,000 scholarships to these students: Noel Endicott, West Jessamine; Aaron Joseph Kline, Owen County; Katherine Mann, Scott County; Haley Day, East Jessamine County; and Joshua Mark Wilson, Lincoln County.

Eastern Kentucky University awarded $4,000 scholarships to: Daniel Click, Estill County; Larken Jones, Madison Central; Kenlie Marie Chandler, Estill County; Dalton Mears, Owen County; and James Tyler Price, Madison Southern.

Georgetown College also awarded awarded $4,000 scholarships to: Bailey Rosenbarker, Berea Community; Abigael Wheeler, Bourbon County; Michaela Carter, Tates Creek; Veronica Chisholm, Owen County; and MacKenzie Jones, Western Hills.

Midway College awarded $4,000 scholarships to: Kassidy Cook, Harrison County; Taylor Dile, Anderson County; Destiny Paige Wilson, Montgomery County; Jordan Batts, Woodford County; and Chloe Rogers, Mercer County.

A $500 scholarship provided by Class 101 was awarded to Jiningnan "Jimmy" Chen, Paul Laurence Dunbar.

Four ACT/SAT Preparation Courses valued at $500 each provided by Class 101 were awarded to: Ella Martin, Madison Central; Joshua Wilson, Lincoln County; Tayler Dile, Anderson County; and Jordan King, Bryan Station.

Five leadership awards of $100 each, provided by Central Bank & Trust Co., were awarded to: Taylor Bagley, Lafayette; Morgan Gay, Western Hills; Gabrielle Townsend, Lexington Christian Academy; Lauren "Alex" Otte, Trinity Christian Academy; and Sidney Cobb, Western Hills.

The Youth Salute is conducted annually through the National Council on Youth Leadership in cooperation with the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership.

"Students must be nominated by their high school counselors, teachers, principals and other community leaders to participate in Youth Salute," said Jim Holifield, Chairman of the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership.

All nominees must be high school juniors at the time they are nominated, have at least a 3.0 grade point average and have been chosen by their peers or an adult leader for at least two leadership roles in school, religious or community sponsored organizations during the past two years.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service