Kentucky's Dupree on watch list for Bronko Nagurski Trophy

July 10, 2014 

University of Kentucky senior defensive end Alvin "Bud" Dupree was named Thursday to the national watch list for the 2015 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

The award has been presented to college football's national player of the year since 1993.

Dupree is one of 23 defensive ends on the 81-player watch list, prepared by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

The watch list includes 15 players from the Southeastern Conference in addition to Dupree: Georgia linebackers Jordan Jenkins, Leonard Floyd and Ramik Wilson; Tennessee linebacker A.J. Johnson; Mississippi State linebacker Benardrick McKinney; Alabama defensive back Landon Collins, linebacker Trey DePriest and defensive end A'Shawn Robinson; Mississippi defensive tackle Robert Nkemdiche and defensive back Cody Prewitt; Arkansas defensive end Trey Flowers; Florida defensive end Dante Fowler Jr. and defensive back Vernon Hargreaves III; Missouri defensive end Markus Golden; and Auburn defensive tackle Gabe Wright.

Louisville defensive end Lorenzo Mauldin also was named to the list.

On Monday, Dupree was named to the watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, presented to the nation's top defensive player as determined by the Maxwell Football Club.

Dupree, a native of Irwinton, Ga., led SEC defensive linemen with 61 tackles last season, including a team-best seven sacks. Dupree recorded a team-high 9.5 tackles for loss, one pass breakup, three quarterback hurries and two fumbles forced.

Dupree received second-team All-SEC recognition from The Associated Press after his junior season.

The Football Writers Association of America and Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 20.

The trophy will be presented Dec. 8 at the annual banquet in Charlotte, N.C.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service