Young Achievers honors top 4th and 7th-graders

July 14, 2014 

The Young Achievers program has named a school winner for each participating elementary and middle school in Fayette County for the 2013-2014 school year. Each winner will receive a Young Achievers gold medallion, a Young Achievers T-shirt and a Young Achievers book bag. These students were nominated by their principal, guidance counselor or teacher in the spring of their fourth- or seventh-grade year.

Holifield Photography sponsors Young Achievers in cooperation with the non-profit International Leadership Network and has helped develop the program in the Central Kentucky area over the last 24 years.

The purpose of this program is to honor fifth- and eighth-graders in the community who serve as positive role models for their peers, demonstrate exceptional achievement in a variety of areas, exhibit good citizenship in their schools and communities and maintain satisfactory records of school attendance and scholastic achievement.


The following is a list of the top school winners in the Young Achievers program for the 2013-2014 school year:

Elementary Schools fifth grade:

Elizabeth Moore, Ashland Elementary School; Graham Wilson and Taylor Marie Galavotti (tie), Athens-Chilesburg Elementary; Lauren Michelle Oliver, Booker T. Washington Elementary School; Eryn Keenan, Breckinridge Elementary School; Darius Rowe, Cardinal Valley Elementary School; Bennett Shrensker, Cassidy Elementary School; Stephen Ewing, Clays Mill Elementary School; Hannah Yahr, Deep Springs Elementary School; LeAnn Khong, Dixie Magnet Elementary School; Emily O'Nan, Garden Springs Elementary School; Maian Jennings, Harrison Elementary School; JoonWoo Park, Julius Marks Elementary School; Andy Waters, Lansdowne Elementary School; Holden Whipple, Lexington Christian Academy; Jackson Gonzales, Liberty Elementary School; Helena Arjona, Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary School; Rylea Lewis, Mary Todd Elementary School; Victoria Grace Lowe, Maxwell Elementary School; Erin Stratton, Meadowthorpe Elementary School; Grace Hensley, Millcreek Elementary School; Kathryn Winburn, Northern Elementary School; Sophia Lawson, Picadome Elementary School; Emma Jinwright, Rosa Parks Elementary School; Karen Kimberly Castillo-Tellez, Russell Cave Elementary School; Brayden Mefford, Sandersville Elementary School; Natalie Gardner, Seton Catholic School; Charles Wilson, Southern Elementary School; James Boyd, Squires Elementary School; William Garrett Barr IV, St. Peter and Paul School; Sarah Hayden Clark, Stonewall Elementary School; Paula Jocelle Aguhob Glaser, Summit Christian Academy; Kamilah Tyshae Ragland, Tates Creek Elementary School; Ethan Rood, Veterans Park Elementary School; Abby Milner, Wellington Elementary School; Kyla Langford, William Wells Brown Elementary School; and Matthew Tuggle, Yates Elementary School.

Middle Schools — eighth grade (2013-2014 School Year)

Tejaswini Sudhakar, Beaumont Middle School; Jovanna Lewis, Bryan Station Middle School; Emma Harper, Christ the King School; Alison Ivey Chrisco, Crawford Middle School; Kacie Hughes, Edythe J. Hayes Middle School; Dallyn Nicole Newsome, Jessie Clark Middle School; Nathaniel Duncan Evans Sparks, Leestown Middle School; Wyatt Southall, Lexington Christian Academy; Aaron Bussell, Lexington Traditional Magnet School; Claudia Terhune, Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary School; Katherine Boyd, Montessori Middle School; Will Feese, Morton Middle School; Brett Goble, Royal Springs Middle School; Joshua Curry, Sayre School; Natalie Scolf, School for the Creative and Performing Arts; John Ang, Seton Catholic School; Mikayla Day, Southern Middle School; Courtney Nicole Bailey, St. Peter and Paul School; Elena Joos, Summit Christian Academy; Hunter Cole, Tates Creek Middle School; and Adarsh Chithrala, Winburn Middle School.

Lexington Herald-Leader is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service